June 7, 2017

Niehaus and Tublin 2017 Big Ten Sportsmanship Honorees


June 7, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Josh Tublin of the Ohio State men’s volleyball team and Sandy Niehaus from women’s tennis were recognized by the Big Ten as Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners, the Big Ten Conference announced Wednesday.

One member of each varsity sports team on every Big Ten campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university’s list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Tublin was a member of the back-to-back NCAA Men’s Volleyball national champion Ohio State Buckeyes in 2016-17. He played in 37 career matches, including the ’16 NCAA Semifinals, while pursuing a biomedical engineering degree. The Pittsburgh, Pa., native is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and tabbed a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar a year ago.

Niehaus ended her Buckeye career as the all-time leader in career doubles wins with 102 and is third with 102 singles victories, ranking second in career combined wins for a Buckeye (204). A captain for the 2017 NCAA semifinalist squad that won the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles, she was 30-4 overall, with a 24-2 mark in dual play. Niehaus, from Cincinnati, ended the year ranked nationally in doubles after posting a 27-10 mark for the year, with a 20-8 record in dual matches.

2017 Ohio State Sportsmanship Award Recipients
Baseball – Jalen Washington
Men’s Basketball – C.J. Jackson
Men’s Cross Country – Evan Stifel
Men’s Fencing – Lewis Weiss
Football – Joe Burger
Men’s Golf – Daniel Wetterich
Men’s Gymnastics – Jake Martin
Men’s Hockey – Logan Davis
Men’s Lacrosse – Tyler Pfister
Men’s Pistol – Seth Bearjar
Men’s Rifle – Joshua Black
Men’s Soccer – Austin Bergstrom
Men’s Swimming & Diving – Joey Long
Men’s Tennis – Hunter Tubert
Men’s Track & Field – Champ Page
Men’s Volleyball – Josh Tublin
Wrestling – Nick Tavanello
Women’s Basketball – Alexa Hart
Women’s Cross Country – Sarah Kanney
Women’s Fencing – Alanna Goldie
Field Hockey – Liz Tamburro
Women’s Golf – Rio Watanabe
Women’s Gymnastics – Jaine VanPutten
Women’s Hockey – Katie Matheny
Women’s Lacrosse – Paulina Constant
Women’s Rifle – Chrissy Thomas
Rowing – Abigail Ernst
Women’s Soccer – Lindsay Agnew
Softball – Anna Kirk
Women’ Swimming & Diving – Elizabeth Auckley
Synchronized Swimming – Alexa Aton
Women’s Tennis – Sandy Niehaus
Women’s Track & Field – Rachel Weber
Women’s Volleyball – Kylie Randall