November 30, 2017

Nick Bosa Named Big Ten’s Defensive Lineman of the Year


Nov. 30, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio – True sophomore Nick Bosa, Ohio State’s leader in both tackles-for-loss and quarterback sacks, was named today the Big Ten Conference’s Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Bosa, part of talented and deep Ohio State defensive line that features 10 members with at least 2.0 TFLs apiece, is the fourth consecutive Buckeye to win the Big Ten’s top defensive lineman award and the fifth Buckeye in the last six years to win it. Included is two honors for Nick’s brother, Joey.

Ohio State’s Big Ten Defensive Linemen of the Year
Beginning in 2011, named for Michigan State’s Bubba Smith and Penn State’s Courtney Brown

2017: Nick Bosa
2016: Tyquan Lewis
2015: Joey Bosa
2014: Joey Bosa
2012: John Simon
2007: Vernon Gholston
2003: Will Smith
1996: Mike Vrabel
1995: Mike Vrabel
1993: Dan Wilkinson
1986: Eric Kumerow

Named first-team all-Big Ten by both the coaches and the media on Tuesday, Bosa, from Fort Lauderdale, Fla., and St. Thomas Aquinas High School, has 12.5 TFLs this season for 56 yards in losses. His totals include six quarterback sacks for minus-44 yards.

Bosa has also contributed 28 total tackles and a team-high six quarterback hurries.

No. 15 for Coach Johnson
No Big Ten Conference program in the last 22 years has developed more combined Big Ten defensive linemen of the year and defensive players of the year than the 15 such players that assistant head coach/defensive line coach Larry Johnson has coached since 1996. He has coached five such award winners in his four seasons at Ohio State.  

Johnson’s Defensive Linemen/*Players of the Year
2017: Nick Bosa
2016: Tyquan Lewis
2015: Joey Bosa
2014: *Joey Bosa
2011: *Devon Still
2009: *Jared Odrick
2005: Tamba Hali
2002: *Michael Haynes
2002: Jimmy Kennedy
1999: *Courtney Brown

*Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year