April 30, 2022

NFL Draft: Ninth Consecutive Draft with at Least Five Selections


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The 2022 NFL Draft came to its conclusion early Saturday evening, but not before two more Ohio State Buckeyes were selected, increasing the program’s total to six selections in this draft. This is the ninth consecutive draft in which Ohio State has had at least five players drafted.

True senior and 41-game veteran Tyreke Smith was the fifth Buckeye drafted this year, going in the fifth round with the 158th overall pick, to the Seattle Seahawks.

And selected in the seventh round was All-American offensive lineman, and 45-game starter, Thayer Munford, who went to the Las Vegas Raiders with the 238th overall pick.

2022 NFL Draft Picks from Ohio State University

Round 1 – WR Garrett Wilson, No. 10 overall to the New York Jets

Round 1 – WR Chris Olave, No. 11 overall to the New Orleans Saints

Round 3 – OT Nicholas Petit-Frere, No. 69 overall to the Tennessee Titans

Round 3 – TE Jeremy Ruckert, No 101 overall to the New York Jets

Round 5 – DE Tyreke Smith, No. 158 overall to the Seattle Seahawks

Round 7 – OL Thayer Munford, No. 238 overall to the Las Vegas Raiders

Tyreke Smith – Ohio State Overview

#11 / DE / 6-3, 265 / Cleveland / Cleveland Heights HS

  • Tyreke Smith played in 41 games for the Buckeyes and started 17 times between 2018-21
  • Was a part of three consecutive Big Ten championship teams and two Ohio State teams that advanced to the College Football Playoffs, including the title game in 2021
  • Recorded 55 career tackles with 11 tackles for losses totaling 61 yards and seven quarterback sacks
  • Also was credited with nine quarterback hurries
  • Had a personal-best five tackles in consecutive games vs. Penn State and Nebraska in 2021
  • Played in seven games during the Covid-derailed 2020 season and had his top performance in the CFP Semifinal win vs. Clemson: two solo tackles, one tackle for loss, one sacks, one forced fumble and one pass defended
  • Played in 11 games as a true sophomore in 2019 and started four times
  • Had a multi-sack (2) game vs. Maryland in 2019
  • Earned significant playing time along a deep and talented defensive line rotation as a true freshmen in 2018

Honors & Awards

2021: Graduated in December with his degree in sport industry; OSU Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten; Second-team All-Big Ten Conference

2020: OSU Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten

2019: OSU Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten

2018: OSU Scholar-Athlete

Thayer Munford – Ohio State Overview

#75 / OL / 6-6, 321 / Cincinnati / Massillon Washington HS

  • Recipient in 2021 of the team’s Block “O” jersey for toughness, accountability and the highest of character, like the great Bill Willis
  • 2021 team captain
  • A first-team All-American in 2021 by the American Football Coaches Association and a four-time all-Big Ten Conference honoree, including first team accolades in 2020 and 2021
  • A four-year starter along the offensive line for Ohio State with 45 career starts and 58 games played between 2017-21, including a fifth-year “super senior” campaign in 2021
  • Started 12 games in 2021 after starting seven games in the Covid-wrecked year of 2020 with 13 starts in both 2018 and 2019
  • On the field for at least 700 plays in 2018, 2019 and 2021
  • Elected to return to Ohio State is 2021 in order to complete his degree in human development and family sciences
  • Played on a Big Ten-record four consecutive Big Ten outright championship teams between 2017-20 and part of two College Football Playoff teams
  • Helped Ohio State’s offense to 11 Top 5 national statistical rankings, including No. 1 nationally in 2021 in total offense and scoring offense
  • With Munford helping to lead the way, J.K. Dobbins became the first running back in school history to surpass 2,000 yards in a season during the 2019 campaign

Honors & Awards

2021: Graduated in August with his degree in human development and family sciences; First-Team All-American (AFCA); First-Team All-Big Ten (coaches and media)

2020: First-Team All-Big Ten (coaches and media)

2019: Second-Team All-Big Ten (coaches and media)

2018: Honorable Mention All-Big Ten (coaches and media)