COLUMBUS, Ohio – It’s down to four at 141 and 149 pounds and Ohio State wrestlers Reece Humphrey and Lance Palmer are among the contingent who will compete in the semifinals Friday night at the 2010 NCAA Championships.

The wins for Humphrey and Palmer also solidify their status as 2010 All-Americans. Palmer now is a four-time All-American, joining former Buckeye Tommy Rowlands as the only other four-time All-American in Ohio State history. 

Semifinal action at the Qwest Center in Omaha, Neb., will get underway at 7 p.m. ET. The fourth session of the championships will air live on ESPNU.

As a team, Ohio State moved into a tie for third place with 46 points with Iowa State. Iowa leads the way with 73 points, while Cornell is second (54.0). The Buckeyes are backed by three wrestlers who are still competing in the wrestlebacks. Nikko Triggas (125), Colt Sponseller (165) and Mike Pucillo (184) remain in contention for third place as they won two matches in the early-morning session Friday.

Humphrey’s semifinal match will pit him against No. 1 seed Kyle Dake of Cornell. It will be the third meeting this year between the two grapplers this season. Humphrey and Dake first met Dec. 4 in the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Wrestling Collegiate Invitational where the Buckeye from Indianapolis, Ind., won, 4-2 in sudden victory. Dake evened the series with an 8-4 victory at the NWCA National Duals Jan. 9.

In his quarterfinal match against Lehigh’s Seth Ciasulli, Humphrey, the fourth seed, won, 5-3.  Following the first period, the senior team captain owned a 2-1 lead and then took a 3-1 advantage after recording the lone point of the second period on an escape. Ciasulli cut Humphrey’s lead to one when he managed to escape in the third period, but Humphrey’s ensuing takedown cemented the victory.

The No. 1 seed, Palmer will face fifth-seed Frank Molinaro of Penn State. Palmer, a senior captain from Columbia Station, Ohio, and Molinaro will meet for the second time this season. Behind a takedown, reversal and a 1:28 of riding time, Palmer handed Molinaro just his second loss (5-3) of the season Jan. 24 in Columbus.

Palmer made quick work of Jason Chamberlain of Boise State in the quarterfinals Friday, pinning the Bronco in 1:14. 

Triggas posted back-to-back decisions, first shutting out Ben Kjar of Utah Valley State, 4-0. The Buckeye from Moraga, Calif., then downed James Nicholson (Old Dominion), 7-6. Up next for the junior is Virginia Tech’s Jarrod Garnett.

The fifth seed, Sponseller opened Friday morning with a dominating 17-3 major decision over Ross Tice of Kent State. A junior from Glenmont, Ohio, Sponseller then beat Kyle Bounds of Michigan State for the third time this season with a 5-1 decision. Sponseller’s match sets up a meeting with Stanford’s Nick Amuchastegui. 

Pucillo, a 10th seed, recorded consecutive wins against Big Ten opponents Friday morning. The Buckeye senior from Strongsville, Ohio, first handed Nick Palmieri of Michigan State an 8-0 major decision loss. He followed that performance with a 6-2 decision over Penn State’s No. 11 Dave Erwin. Pucillo will matchup against No. 5 seed Clayton Foster of Oklahoma State next.

True freshman Ian Paddock (133), senior Dave Rella (174) and redshirt-freshman C.J. Magrum (197) were eliminated from competition.

Following an 11-2 win over Stanford’s Justin Paulsen, Paddock suffered a 6-3 setback to Steve Bell of Maryland in his first NCAA championships appearance.

Rella lost a close 4-2TB1 decision to Purdue’s Luke Manuel to conclude his collegiate career. A senior from Akron, Ohio, Rella finishes his Ohio State career 45-27 overall. A transfer from Penn State, the Akron, Ohio, native returned to the Buckeye state two seasons ago and is a two-time NCAA championships qualifier.
Magrum began Friday morning with a 3-1 decision against Micah Burak of Penn, but dropped an 11-0 major decision to Brent Haynes (Missouri) in his inaugural national championships.

2010 NCAA Championships
March 18-20
Qwest Center
Omaha, Neb.
Through Session 3

Team Standings
1 73.0 Iowa
2 54.0 Cornell
3 46.0 Iowa State
   46.0 Ohio State
5 44.0 Oklahoma
6 43.0 Oklahoma State
7 35.0 Minnesota
8 33.0 Penn State
33.0 Wisconsin
10 30.0 Missouri

Fred Santaite (Boston University) DEC Nikko Triggas (Ohio State) D 8-7
Nikko Triggas (Ohio State) DEC Allen Bartelli (Boise State) D 4-1
Nikko Triggas (Ohio State) DEC Ben Kjar (Utah Valley State) D 4-0
Nikko Triggas (Ohio State) DEC James Nicholson (Old Dominion) D 7-6

Ian Paddock (Ohio State) WBF Alex Radsky (Davidson) F 4:38
Jayson Ness (Minnesota) DEC Ian Paddock (Ohio State) D 5-0
Ian Paddock (Ohio State) DEC Justin Paulsen (Stanford) MD 11-2
Steve Bell (Maryland) DEC Ian Paddock (Ohio State) D 6-3

Reece Humphrey (Ohio State) DEC Dalton Jensen (Iowa State) M 11-3
Reece Humphrey (Ohio State) DEC Michael Mangrum (Oregon State) D 4-3
Reece Humphrey (Ohio State) DEC Seth Ciasulli (Lehigh) D 5-3

Lance Palmer (Ohio State) DEC Seth Morton (Ohio University) D 8-1
Lance Palmer (Ohio State) WBF Nicholas Bertucci (Purdue) F 1:23
Lance Palmer (Ohio State) WBF Jason Chamberlain (Boise State) F 1:14

Colt Sponseller (Ohio State) WBF John-Martin Cannon (Buffalo) F 6:22
Tyler Caldwell (Oklahoma) DEC Colt Sponseller (Ohio State) D 3-2
Colt Sponseller (Ohio State) DEC Ross Tice (Kent State) MD 17-3
Colt Sponseller (Ohio State) DEC Kyle Bounds (Michigan State) D 5-1

Christopher Henrich (Virginia) DEC Dave Rella (Ohio State) M 8-0
Dave Rella (Ohio State) DEC Ian Hinton (Michigan State) D 3-1
Luke Manuel (Purdue) DEC Dave Rella (Ohio State) D 4-2; TB1

Mike Miller (Central Michigan) DEC Mike Pucillo (Ohio State) D 4-2
Mike Pucillo (Ohio State) DEC Michael Solpek (Virginia) D 2-0
Mike Pucillo (Ohio State) DEC Austin Trotman (Appalachian State) D 4-1
Mike Pucillo (Ohio State) DEC Nick Palmieri (Michigan State) MD 8-0
Mike Pucillo (Ohio State) DEC Dave Erwin (Penn State) D 6-2

Jesse Strawn (Old Dominion) DEC C.J. Magrum (Ohio State) D 5-3
C.J. Magrum (Ohio State) WBTF Parker Burns (Campbell) TF5 15-0 4:49
C.J. Magrum (Ohio State) DEC Micah Burak (Penn) D 3-1
Brent Haynes (Missouri) DEC C.J. Magrum (Ohio State) M 11-0