April 29, 1999

MARCO ISLAND, Fla. – In a historic vote, the Western Collegiate Hockey Association established a new womens league at its 1999 annual meeting in Marco Island, Florida.

The unanimous vote followed a year-long planning process.

“This is indeed a significant development for the WCHA,” Darrell Smith said, Chair of the Association and Faculty Representative from Michigan Tech University. “We are all looking forward to playing a major role in the continuing evolution and development of womens ice hockey at all levels and the opportunity to build on, and add to, the great history and tradition of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association.”

Inaugural members of the WCHA women’s league are Minnesota State University, Mankato; University of Minnesota; University of Minnesota-Duluth; St. Cloud State University, and University of Wisconsin. In addition, Bemidji and Ohio State Univesity have been invited to join the womens league.

The women’s league will begin play for the 1999-2000 season and will include a 24-game conference schedule and a year-end league tournament.