May 18, 2017

NCAA East Preliminaries Field Announced


May 18, 2017

Columbus, Ohio – Entries for the NCAA East Preliminaries were announced on Thursday and Ohio State will be represented by 28 athletes at the meet. This year’s NCAA East Preliminaries will be hosted in Lexington, Ky., at the University of Kentucky Track and Field Complex, lasting three days, May 25-27.

NCAA East Preliminaries Schedule | Women Qualifiers | Men Qualifiers

All Division I schools are split up into two regions (east and west), and an athlete has to be ranked inside the Top 48 of their respective division to earn a bid to the Preliminaries. In order to advance to the NCAA Championships, an athlete or relay team must place inside the Top 12 in Lexington to travel to Eugene, Ore.

The sprinters lead the way with seven entries followed by six throwers. Five distance runners will make the trip along with four hurdlers, three jumpers and three pole vaulters. Ohio State will also have 4x100m and 4x400m relay teams, for both women and men, in action.

2017 Big Ten champions Deshawn Marshall (100m dash), Sade Olatoye (shot put), Nick Demaline (shot put) and Champ Page (400m dash) will all be looking to advance in their events. Marshall is also slated to run in the 200m dash and will more than likely be a member of the relay teams along with Page.

Olatoye will be doubling up with the hammer throw joining Kate Deaton in that event. Alyssa Kopp and Daniel Mastropaolo will be heaving the javelin and Lyne’a Diller will be throwing the discus.

The rest of the sprinting contingent will be constructed by five athletes. Beatrice Hannan, Karrington Winters and Maggie Barrie are all entered in the 400m dash. Hannan will double up in the 200m dash as well alongside Aaliyah Barnes who will be running the 100m and 200m dash. Nick Gray, a 2016 All-American in the 200m dash, will be running in that event with hopes of making a return trip to Eugene.

Both school record holders in the pole vault will be making the trip to Lexington: Cole Gorski and Madison Roberts will look to clear new personal bests with hopes of advancing to Oregon. Coty Cobb, whose season best clearance of 5.16m (16-11.00) came at the Jesse Owens Classic, will be representing the Buckeyes in this event as well.

The jumping corps will be led by the efforts of Zack Bazile who is coming off a monstrous weekend at the Big Ten Championships. Bazile, a 2016 All-American in the long jump, launched two huge qualifying marks at the conference meet and he will have a very good chance to advance to the NCAA Championships in both the long and triple jump. Mikaela Seibert (triple jump) and Taylor DeLoach (long jump) will be representing the Buckeyes in the sand pits, attempting to set personal bests.

One other jumper, DaJuan Seward will be looking for some hangtime in the triple jump with Bazile. Seward, only a sophomore, will also be competing in the 110m hurdles alongside senior Donovan Robertson. Joining Robertson and Seward in the hurdles will be Christine London and Chantel Ray. London will be competing twice (100m and 400m hurdles) while Ray will only attempt the 100m hurdles.

The distance crew will be paced by school record holder Rachel Weber. The senior from Dublin, Ohio, set the school record last weekend in the 800m run; she will contest that event at Preliminaries. Freshman Alex Lomong will compete in the men’s 800m run alongside senior Jared Fleming. The other two distance runners will be competing in races of longer lengths: Sarah Kanney will be running in the 3,000m steeplechase, in which she owns the school record, and Emily Stoodley will be running the 10,000m run.