Oct. 18, 2011

Columbus, Ohio –The Ohio State University Alumni Association will honor the 2011 NCAA Champion men’s volleyball team with the E. Gordon Gee Spirit of Ohio State Award Friday at the 53rd Alumni Awards Banquet at the Columbus Renaissance Downtown Hotel.

The Buckeyes, who finished the season 26-6, beat Penn State 3-1 (25-18, 24-26, 25-22, 25-23) in a national semifinal before upsetting West Coast power UC-Santa Barbara, 3-2 (20-25, 25-20, 25-19, 22-25, 15-9) to capture the long-sought championship.

“This is a great night for Ohio State and for Ohio State men’s volleyball,” Hanson told reporters after the match. “Hopefully we’ve added another element to the Ohio State volleyball legacy.”

The Buckeyes won the national championship after going 11-1 in the Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association to win their fifth-straight regular-season title. The Buckeye also won the league’s post-season tournament for the fourth straight year to earn a spot in the NCAA Tournament.

The championship team was led by seniors Steve Kehoe, John Klanac and Kevin Heine, while underclassmen Shawn Sangrey, Mik Berzins and Grayson Overman all made key contributions throughout the season.

Kehoe as named a first-team All-American by Volleyball Magazine, while Klanac and Sangrey were named to the second team and Heine was on the third team. Sangrey had a team-high 30 kills in the championship match.

Volleyball Magazine also named Hanson the national coach of the year. He is now 541-288 in 27 years at Ohio State.

• Team bio:
• All 12 honorees: