March 26, 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio – For the second-consecutive season and seventh time in program history, the Ohio State pistol team was crowned champions at the Pistol Intercollegiate National Championships on Thursday.

The championship marks the third time the Buckeyes have won a national title in open team competition, as they previously claimed an open team title in 2000 and 2014. Ohio State has also earned four national championships in women’s team competition, notching titles in 2000, 2003, 2004 and 2009.

In addition to the open team title, freshman standout Irina Andrianova earned first place in women’s sport pistol. With a score of 566 out of a possible 600 points, Andrianova captured the first individual national title of her collegiate career.

Overall, Andrianova and the Buckeye women’s team placed second in the sport competition, as well as runner-up in the overall women’s competition.

Rookie Glenn Zimmerman claimed first place in the 3-Gun Aggregate, which is a combination score of all three open events. With totals of 523 (Free Pistol –  fourth place), 554 (Standard Pistol — second place), and 557 (Air — eighth place), he had an impressive score of 1634 out of 1800 to capture the first individual national title of his collegiate career. 

Ohio State started the meet with a third-place showing in the women’s 40-shot match. The squad followed it up with a second-place finish in the open free pistol competition, as Zimmerman earned fourth-place individually and senior Greyson McCaig received seventh.

All American Athletes:
Free Pistol:

Standard Pistol:

Air Pistol:

Sport Pistol: