COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s volleyball team will host Waterloo (6-4) in 7 p.m. exhibition matches Friday and Saturday in St. John Arena. The matches are the final tune up for the Buckeyes before they depart next Tuesday (Jan. 6) for the Outrigger Tournament (Jan. 8-10) in Honolulu, Hawaii.

The Buckeyes, coached by Pete Hanson, posted a 20-8 overall record last season and finished 11-1 in the Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (MIVA), winning a second-consecutive league championship. Ohio State won the MIVA tournament to advance to the NCAA championship semifinals when it lost to eventual NCAA champion Penn State, 3-0. The Buckeyes were picked to finish third in the MIVA in the 2009 preseason poll.

The Warriors, coached by Chris Lawson, are 6-4 on the season. Waterloo last played Nov. 26 when it defeated Laurier, 3-2 (25-19, 18-25, 23-25, 25-23, 15-12). Cameron Dunning heads a trio of players averaging three-plus points per game. Dunning is averaging a team-high 3.16 points per game and averages 2.87 kills and .92 digs per game while hitting .167. Tyler Vivian averages 3.15 points, 2.77 kills and 2.05 digs per game while hitting .221. Aaron Dam averages 3.11 points, 2.27 kills and .78 blocks per game while hitting .504.

Ohio State was picked to finished third this season in the Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association preseason poll. The coaches voted Lewis first and Ball State second. Rounding out the voting was Loyola-Chicago in fourth, IPFW fifth and Quincy sixth. Two Buckeyes, Robbie Klein and Ben Spurlock, were named to the preseason MIVA all-conference team. Joining the Buckeyes on the 10-player team were Mike Iandolo, Nicky Perakes, Drew Pickering and Billy Sahagian of Lewis, Todd Chamberlain and Matt McCarthy of Ball State and Kris Berzins and Nick Lamoureux of Loyola-Chicago.

Pete Hanson is in his 25th season at Ohio State. He has a 477-263 record with the Buckeyes and has 11 Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association championships, including 2008. Named the MIVA Coach of the Year eight times, including 2008, he was the American Volleyball Coaches Association National Coach of the Year in 2000 when Ohio State was the NCAA national championship runner-up. Hanson was also the 1998 Volleyball Magazine Coach of the Year. His teams have advanced to the NCAA championships seven times including back-to-back appearances in 2000 (runner-up) and 2001 (semifinalist).

The Buckeyes will travel to Honolulu, Hawaii, to play in the Outrigger Tournament. Ohio State faces host Hawaii at 12 p.m. ET, Thursday, Jan. 8. The Buckeyes next face Penn State at 9 p.m. ET, Friday, Jan. 9 and close out play against Southern California at 9 p.m. ET, Saturday, Jan. 10.