COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association has recognized nine Ohio State men’s volleyball players who have been named to the MIVA Academic All-Conference Team. To be eligible, athletes must have achieved at least a 3.00 career grade-point average on a 4.0 scale after the completion of the fall semester at their respective institutions. A total of 72 players were honored by the conference.

The 2009 MIVA Academic All-Conference selections from Ohio State are: John Albertson, Dale Freier, Kevin Heine, Steven Kehoe, Brian Kues, Ted Schoenfeldt, John Tholen, Jason Tobkin and Ryan Versen.

The 11th-ranked Buckeyes (12-9 overall, 8-1 MIVA) return to action at 7 p.m. Friday when they host IPFW (12-10, 3-3). An Ohio State victory over the Mastodons will give the Buckeyes the outright conference championship.