Buckeyes in the hunt for fourth-consecutive league tournament title

COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State men’s tennis team, ranked second in the nation, claimed the No. 1 seed for the 2009 Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament after clinching its fourth-consecutive regular-season conference title with a pair of 7-0 wins over Northwestern and Wisconsin last weekend in Columbus. The Buckeyes (28-1; 10-0 Big Ten), who receive a bye through first-round action, will begin a run for their fourth tournament title in a row at 10 a.m. Friday vs. the winner of the No. 8 Wisconsin-No. 9 Iowa match at the University of Michigan’s Varsity Tennis Center in Ann Arbor, Mich.

The Scarlet and Gray have recorded 50-consecutive victories against Big Ten opponents and are currently 101-5 in their last 106 conference matches, including postseason play. If Ohio State advances in the competition, the squad will play a match at 10 a.m. Saturday followed by the tournament final at noon Sunday.

The league tournament, slated to take place Thursday-Sunday, has Illinois (19-7; 8-2) as the No. 2 seed and Minnesota (17-6; 7-3) at the No. 3 spot. Michigan (12-13; 6-4) edged out Northwestern (18-7; 6-4) for the No. 4 seed as the Wolverines defeated the Wildcats, 4-3, during regular season play. Each of the Top 5 teams receives a first-round bye.

On the bottom half of the bracket, No. 6 Indiana (13-13; 5-5) play No. 11 Michigan State (12-13; 0-10) while No. 7 Penn State (13-12; 4-6) will play No. 10 Purdue (7-15; 1-9). All first-round games are scheduled to be played Thursday.

Please view PDF for complete list of dates and times for the Big Ten tournament. Live scoring for all matches can be located on the Ohio State men’s tennis schedule page or on Michigan’s Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament page located on or in the link above.