COLUMBUS, Ohio In a season full of firsts, the Ohio State men’s tennis team continued the trend Tuesday as two Buckeyes were named to the 2009 Men’s NCAA Tennis Championship All-Tournament Team for the first time in program history. Steven Moneke and Justin Kronauge were all-tournament selections at Nos. 2 and 3 singles, respectively.

Prior to the Buckeyes’ (36-2; 10-0 Big Ten) national championship final match-up against USC Tuesday, Ohio State head coach Ty Tucker was named Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Year. It is Tucker’s first such honor after earning Midwest Region Coach of the Year laurels four times 2004, 2006, 2008 and 2009. Tucker also has been named Big Ten Coach of the Year on five occasions in 2001, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009.

During the Scarlet and Gray’s four-year Big Ten regular-season and tournament championships run, Tucker has led the Buckeyes to 129-8 record (.942).

Kronauge, who joins Moneke and No. 3-seed Bryan Koniecko in the singles tournament Wednesday and pairs up with Moneke in the doubles championship Thursday, went undefeated (6-0) during the team portion of the championships. The junior from Centerville, Ohio, won five of six NCAA matches in straight sets at No. 3. His lone three-set match was a 5-7, 6-3, 6-4 rally against UCLA’s Harel Srugo to send the Buckeyes to the national championship final.

Moneke compiled a 5-0 NCAA record at No. 2 singles, winning all five matches in straight sets. His final match vs. USC’s Steve Johnson went unfinished. The senior tri-captain from Alten-Buseck, Germany, upped his career singles wins total to 142 matches as the program’s all-time leader.

The Buckeyes finished another memorable season setting the school record for most wins in a single season (36), longest dual match win streak (28) and best single-season winning percentage (.947) following their 4-1 loss to the Trojans.

2009 Men’s NCAA Tennis Championship All-Tournament Team 
No. 1 Singles: Robert Farah, USC
No. 2 Singles: Steven Moneke, Ohio State
No. 3 Singles: Justin Kronauge, Ohio State
No. 4 Singles: Holden Seguso, UCLA
No. 5 Singles: Michael Look, UCLA
No. 6 Singles: Daniel Nguyen, USC

No. 1 Doubles: Robert Farah/Steve Johnson, USC
No. 2 Doubles: Amit Inbar/Holden Seguso, UCLA
No. 3 Doubles: Matt Kecki/Jaak Poldma, USC