COLUMBUS, Ohio Bryan Koniecko and Steven Moneke, seniors on the NCAA runner-up Ohio State men’s tennis team, were named Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Americans, the ITA announced Friday. Koniecko and Moneke conclude their careers as three-time ITA All-Americans (2007, ’08 and ’09).

In order to earn All-America laurels, student-athletes must be a Top 16 seed or reach the round of 16 in the NCAA Singles Championship. Student-athletes who finish in the Top 20 in the final ITA rankings also are eligible for All-America honors.

Moneke closed out his final year with the Buckeyes with a trip to the NCAA singles final. The championship final appearance is the furthest any Buckeye has advanced at the NCAA championships. Although Moneke finished as the national runner-up, he leaves Ohio State as the program’s all-time singles winner with 146. He also tied the single-season wins record this season with 45. Following the team portion of the NCAA championships, Moneke was an NCAA All-Tournament team recipient at No. 2 singles.  
Koniecko, who was ranked in the Top 5 the majority of the season, captured the Wilson/ITA Midwest Regional before going on to win the ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor championship in Charlottesville, Va., this past fall. Koniecko became the Buckeyes’ first indoor singles champion since Jeremy Wurtzman in 2003. After four years with the Buckeyes, Koniecko, who was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year for the second-consecutive year and Farnsworth/ITA Midwest Senior Player of the Year, finished his career first on the all-time combined wins list with 254 (129, 125) and first on the all-time doubles wins list with 125.

Koniecko is the Midwest Region ITA/John Van Nostrand Memorial Award nominee. The award is a stipend that goes to an outstanding senior men’s player who plans to pursue a professional career after college.

Ohio State finished second in the final Campbell/ITA College Tennis Division I Rankings, compiled the most wins in a season for the Buckeyes with 36, set the program record for longest dual-match winning streak at 28 and recorded the best winning percentage in team history (.947).