COLUMBUS, Ohio­­­­­ ­ The No. 9-ranked Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team travels to West Lafayette, Ind., for the 2009 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships. Nationally-ranked Purdue hosts the February 26-28 event at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center.

The Buckeyes are coming off a 10-2 dual meet season under head coach Bill Wadley. This season, the team’s only losses came to tough Big Ten opponents No. 4 Michigan and No. 7 Indiana. Highlighting the season was Ohio State’s first-place finish at the 2008 Ohio State Invitational. The Buckeyes defeating the three-time defending champion Minnesota by over 500 points to capture their first Invite title.

Go to and drag down “sports” in upper left corner and choose men’s swimming and diving to follow the championship action. Once in the men’s home page, scroll down and click on the Men’s Swimming and Diving tab on the right hand side of the page to access the results.

The Big Ten Network will televise the 2009 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships at 11 a.m. Saturday, March 7.

The Buckeyes are currently ranked No. 9 in the latest College Swimming Coaches Association of America poll. The ranking is based on dual-meet performance. Six schools represent the Big Ten in the polls. They are Michigan (4), Indiana (7),  Ohio State (9), Minnesota (11), Purdue (14), Penn State (20).

The Buckeyes traveled to Ann Arbor, Mich., to take part in the 2008 Big Ten Championships at Canham Natatorium. Ohio State came away with a fourth-place finish with 680.5 points. The team broke six school records during the meet and return 17 individuals to the 2009 squad who scored last year.

Ohio State ranks third among the Big Ten member institutions with 12 Big Ten championships. The last title came in 1956 and it represented the eighth-consecutive year the Buckeyes were champion. The team, under the direction of the great Mike Peppe, also was NCAA champion six times during this eight-year run. Event-wise at the Big Ten championships, Ohio State has produced:

  • 173 total swimming individual champions (swimming, diving and relay events);
  • 77 individual swimming champions;
  • 79 individual diving champions; and
  • 18 relay champions.

Ohio State swimming coach Bill Wadley has coached 10 individual Big Ten champions and one relay champion while diving coach Vince Panzano has coached 30 of his men’s divers to Big Ten championships.

The 10th-ranked Buckeyes capped a 10-win dual meet season with a 162-121 win over West Virginia on Feb. 6 at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. Before the meet, Ohio State honored its eight seniors: Scott Blake, Jacob Busch, Jordan Hershberger, Tyler King, Matthias Sigrist, Ryan Stoneburg, Felipe Travesso and Yannick van Heers.

Ohio State won 14 of the 16 events, including two wins from diver Sean Moore. The sophomore won both the one-meter and three-meter springboard events and set a new McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion record on the three-meter with a score of 450.30 points.

The Ohio State swimmers and divers turned in an impressive campaign in and out of the pool this season with a No. 9 ranking in the dual meet season and a No. 7 academic ranking by the CSCAA with a 3.25 team grade point average (GPA). The No. 7 ranking was not only the highest in the Big Ten Conference, but it was also the top ranking of any of the teams that finished in the top 20 of the 2008 NCAA championships. Ohio State produced 33 swimmers and divers with at least a 3.0 GPA and 25 individuals with a GPA of 3.5 and higher during the fall 2008 academic grading period.

Seven Buckeyes have combined for 11 NCAA “B” qualifying standards. They are:

  • Niksa Roki has a team-high three “B” standard times: 200 fly, 200 IM, 400 IM; 
  • Chuck Allison has a “B” cut in the 100 fly; 
  • Mark Neiman and Stefan Sigrist have “B” cuts in the 1650 freestyle;
  • George Markovic, Neiman and Sigrist have made “B” standards in the 500 free; 
  • Andrew Olson has a “B” time in the 200 free; 
  • Felipe Travesso picked up a “B” time in the 200 breaststroke. 

Ohio State swimmers and divers set seven records over the course of the season. Sophomore diver Sean Moore broke the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion records on the three-meter (450.30) and the platform (464.35). Junior Niksa Roki has set two marks this season: 200 butterfly (1:46.07) and 200 individual medley (1:45.87). Also breaking records were senior Felipe Travesso in the 100 breaststroke (53.76), sophomore Chuck Allison in the 100 butterfly (47.21) and freshman Brent Hitchcock in the 1000 freestyle (9:05.97).

The Ohio State diving corps once again experienced a successful regular season. Sophomore Sean Moore, who captured the 10-meter platform title at the 2008 NCAA championships with a record-breaking score of 478.20, has a team-best six wins on the season. The 2008 All-America honoree has earned Big Ten Diver of the Week once this season. Junior Burkley Showe, who red-shirted last season, was the 2007 co-Big Ten Freshman of the Year and co-Big Ten Diver of the champoinships after capturing first on the one-meter at the 2007 Big Ten championships. The 2007 All-America honoree has three wins this season and was awarded Big Ten Diver of the Week on one occassion. Junior Ryan Jefferson has also played a large role on the team’s success. He has earned eight Top 3 finishes this season.

Missing out on competition this season is senior Wes Wieser. The two-time Big Ten platform champion and All-American is red-shirting the season.

Ohio State’s two victories over Penn State and Northwestern marked head men’s swimming coach Bill Wadley’s 199th and 200th dual meet wins in his 24 years as a collegiate head coach. Wadley is now 201-43 and 177-33 in this, his 20th season at Ohio State.

Wadley has coached 15 Olympians and his teams have been ranked in the NCAA Top 25 for 16 of the past 19 seasons. Buckeye swimmers and divers have qualified for the NCAA Championships in 17 of Wadley’s 19 years as coach.

Wadley finished fourth at the 2008 Big Ten Championships and saw five school records broken at the conference meet. Ohio State sent eight swimmers and three divers tot he NCAA championships and finished 16th. A total of seven swimmers earned honorable mention All-America honors at the meet.

Wadley has compiled a dual-meet record of 177-33 (.843) at Ohio State and has a career record of 201-43 (.824) in 21 seasons as a college head coach. He as produced more than 35 world-ranked swimmers and 15 of his student-athletes have reached the Olympics. Two recent Buckeyes, Itai Chammah and Niksa Rokie, represented their home countries at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, China.

Vince Panzano is the head coach of the Ohio State men’s and women’s diving teams. Panzano was most recently named the 2008 NCAA women’s diving Coach of the Year and has a total of four national honors. The three-time Olympic coach guided Chelsea Davis and Sean Moore to national championships on the three-meter and platform events, respectively, at their NCAA championships meets. Kristen Asman, Bianca Alvarez and Wes Wieser all secured All-America honors that year.
In his 36 years of coaching, Panzano has produced one world champion, one junior world champion, two Olympic medalists, 22 U.S. diving champions, 12 NCAA champions, 16 NCAA runner-s up, 54 Big Ten champions and 75 All-Americans. He has been named Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year nine times and has twice been awarded the “Mike Peppe Award,” as U.S. Diving’s outstanding coach.

Ohio State’s spectacular McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion will host the 2010 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving championships and the men’s NCAA championships. The facility was recently featured in a Columbus Dispatch article under the headline “Built for Speed.” The article detailed the attributes that make it such a fast pool to swim in, including its 10 lanes that are two feet wider than those in older pools and its water calming bulkheads, gutters and water inlets.