Jan. 25, 2016


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State sophomore guard Kelsey Mitchell has been named to the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award midseason watch list as announced by the US Basketball Writers Association on Monday.

Mitchell is currently second in the country in scoring at 25.2 points per game and is third in the country in three-pointers made per game at 3.4. She was named the preseason B1G Player of the Year and has earned national Player of the Week honors twice so far this season. Mitchell is also on the Wooden and Naismith POY Watch Lists.

The award, which was first handed out in 1987-88 by the USBWA, began being named for former UCLA four-time All-American Ann Meyers Drysdale in 2012. The award will be presented at the College Basketball Awards gala in Oklahoma City on April 11, 2016, at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum. Access Sports, a non-profit organization committed to supporting various charitable causes, will serve as host for the gala. Funds from the gala are used to support youth basketball programs in Oklahoma that allow disadvantaged youth the opportunity to participate in leagues and training.

The USBWA, comprised of nearly 1,000 sports journalists covering college basketball for newspapers, magazines and websites, will select the recipients of the awards. This will be the first time the women’s college player of the year will be featured at the gala.

2016 Ann Meyers Drysdale Midseason Watch List

Jillian Alleyene, Oregon
Rachel Banham, Minnesota
Nina Davis, Baylor
Diamond DeShields,Tennessee
Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut
Niya Johnson, Baylor
Jonquel Jones, George Washington
Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Kelsey Plum, Washington
Azura Stevens, Duke
Breanna Stewart, Connecticut
Morgan Tuck, Connecticut
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Maryland
A’ja Wilson, South Carolina