February 26, 2018

Mitchell Named Lieberman Finalist, Naismith Semifinalist


Feb. 26, 2018

2017-18 Stats
2017-18 Schedule
Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State’s Kelsey Mitchell has been named a finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award and semifinalist for the Citizen Naismith Trophy Women’s College Player of the Year on Monday.

The Lieberman Award honors the best point guard in the country. This is the fourth-straight year Mitchell has been named one of the five finalists. She has averaged over four assists per game this season and her assist-to-turnover ratio is nearly 2-to-1.

The five finalists for the 2018 Nancy Lieberman Award are Kia Nurse (Connecticut), Lexie Brown (Duke), Katelynn Flaherty (Michigan), Sabrina Ionescu (Oregon) and Mitchell. The winner of the 2018 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30. A winner will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit http://www.HoophallAwards.com to cast their votes March 2-23.

This is Mitchell’s fourth Naismith Award semifinalist nomination which is a list of 10 players. She went on to be one of the four finalists as a sophomore in 2016. Mitchell is currently third in the country in scoring at 24.4 points per game and has made a Big Ten best 110 three-point field goals. She is shooting over 40 percent from long range and over 46 percent from the floor which are both the best of her career. Mitchell is the Big Ten’s all-time leading scorer and is currently third in NCAA history with 3,286 career points.

The Naismith Awards master voting academy will identify the four national finalists, to be announced on March 16. Fans will then be able to vote for their favorite player by visiting naismithtrophy.com/vote between March 19-30 to cast their ballot. The fan component counts for five percent of the overall final vote, and the winner of the Citizen Naismith Trophy for Women’s Player of the Year will be revealed on March 31.