Dec. 12, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State junior quarterback Braxton Miller was named today as the recipient of the Chicago Tribune Most Valuable Player Award. Miller earns the coveted Silver Football trophy as the Big Ten’s most valuable player for the second consecutive year and he is the first repeat winner of the award in 24 years.

“I am honored to receive this award for a second time,” Miller said. “This honor is as much about the play of the entire offense as it is about my play. The offensive line, Carlos, our receivers, everyone played at a high level this year and I am fortunate to have such great teammates and coaches.”

Miller, who threw for 1,860 yards and 22 touchdowns and rushed for an additional 1,033 yards and 10 scores, is the first repeat winner of the Silver Football since Indiana’s Anthony Thompson did so in 1988 and 1989. Ohio State’s Archie Griffin (1973 and 1974) and Minnesota’s Paul Giel (1952 and 1953) are the only other players to win multiple Big Ten MVP awards since the award was initiated in 1924, 11 years before the first Heisman Trophy was awarded.

“I am incredibly proud of Braxton,” Ohio State coach Urban Meyer said. “To be one of only four players to win this award twice is a testament to the exceptional young man we have quarterbacking the Buckeyes.”

Ohio State Buckeyes have won a total of 17 Chicago Tribune MVP Awards.

Buckeye Silver Football Winners
2013 – QB Braxton Miller
2012 – QB Braxton Miller
2006 – QB Troy Smith
1998 – QB Joe Germaine
1996 – OT Orlando Pace
1995 – RB Eddie George
1984 – RB Keith Byars
1981 – QB Art Schlichter
1975 – QB Cornelius Greene
1974 – RB Archie Griffin
1975 – RB Archie Griffin
1955 – HB Howard Cassady
1950 – HB Vic Janowicz
1945 – FB Ollie Cline
1944 – HB Les Horvath
1941 – FB Jack Graf
1930 – E Wes Fesler