May 8, 2018

Miles Johnson Selected for Team USA Preliminary Roster


Miles Johnson (Ohio State, ’17) has been chosen as one of 26 players for the U.S. Men’s National Team preliminary roster for the inaugural 2018 FIVB Volleyball Nations League (VNL). The roster will be cut to 21 by May 15. Coaches will then select a 14-man travel team each weekend from the pool of 21.

This is the first year of the Volleyball Nations League, which will include 12 core teams and four challenger teams battling for five weekends in a round robin format. The top five teams and the host country of France will compete in the Final Round on July 4-8 in Lille, France.

The U.S. Men are ranked No. 2 in the world and will host the VNL on June 15-17 at the Sears Centre Arena in Hoffman Estates, Ill., competing against Serbia (June 15), Poland (June 16) and Iran (June 17).

2018 FIVB Volleyball Nations League | U.S. Men’s Preliminary Roster
1. Matt Anderson (Opp, 6-9, West Seneca, N.Y., Penn State)
2. Aaron Russell (OH, 6-9, Ellicott City, Md., Penn State)
3. Taylor Sander (OH, 6-4, Huntington Beach, Calif., BYU)
4. Jeff Jendryk (MB, 6-10, Wheaton, Ill., Loyola of Chicago)
5. James Shaw (S, 6-8, Woodside, Calif., Stanford)
6. Mitch Stahl (MB, 6-8, Chambersburg, Pa., UCLA)
7. Kawika Shoji (S, 6-3, Honolulu, Hawaii, Stanford)
8. T.J. DeFalco (OH, 6-5, Huntington Beach, Calif., Long Beach State)
9. Carson Clark (Opp, 6-6, Santa Barbara, Calif., UC Irvine)
10. Dan McDonnell (MB, 6-6, Phoenix, Ariz., UC Irvine)
11. Micah Christenson (S, 6-6, Honolulu, Southern California)
12. Max Holt (MB, 6-10, Cincinnati, Ohio, Penn State)
13. Ben Patch (Opp, 6-8, Provo, Utah, BYU)
14. David Wieczorek (Opp, 6-8, Chicago, Ill., Pepperdine)
15. Brenden Sander (OH, 6-4, Huntington Beach, Calif., BYU)
16. Jayson Jablonsky (OH, 6-6, Yorba Linda, Calif., UC Irvine)
17. Thomas Jaeschke (OH, 6-6, Wheaton, Ill., Loyola)
18. Jake Langlois (OH, 6-10, San Jose, Calif., BYU)
19. Taylor Averill (MB, 6-7, San Jose, Calif., Hawaii)
20. David Smith (MB, 6-7, Saugus, Calif., UC Irvine)
21. Dustin Watten (L, 6-0, Long Beach, Calif., Long Beach State)
22. Erik Shoji (L, 6-0, Honolulu, Hawaii, Stanford)
23. Jonah Seif (S, 6-6, Thousand Oaks, Calif., UC Santa Barbara)
24. Michael Brinkley (L, 5-10, Huntington Beach, Calif., UC Irvine)
25. Miles Johnson (Opp, 6-6, Carlsbad, Calif., Ohio State)
26. Kyle Ensing (Opp, 6-7, Valencia, Calif., Long Beach State)

Competition Schedule
May 25-27: China, Bulgaria, Argentina in China
June 1-3: Brazil, Japan Korea in Brazil
June 8-10: Canada, Germany, Australia in Canada
June 15-17: Serbia, Poland, Iran in Hoffman Estates, Ill.
June 22-24: Italy, Russia, France in Italy