May 24, 2005

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Centerfielder Mike Rabin and starting pitcher Dan DeLucia were the only two Ohio State representatives on 2005 All-Big Ten teams released Tuesday by the conference office. The teams were selected by a vote of the Big Ten head coaches.

Rabin, a outfielder from West Chester, Ohio (Lakota East), earned first-team honors after finishing second on the Ohio State squad with a .327 batting average (55-for-168). He has six doubles, one home run, 23 RBI and 36 runs scored. He also has stolen 14-of-18 bases. The senior co-captain batted .364 in 29 Big Ten games this season. Four of five total outfield assists came in conference play. Rabin has 19 total outfield assists in his career. He ranks second in school history with 693 career at bats and is tied for seventh with 237 career hits. He also has 48 career stolen bases to rank fifth.

DeLucia, a sophomore from Columbus, Ohio (Bishop Watterson), earned third-team honors after becoming the ace of the staff and leading the Buckeyes with 47 strikeouts and a 3.15 ERA. He currently is 4-5 overall and finished 3-4 in the Big Ten. DeLucia beat Purdue, Penn State and Northwestern in conference play this season. He pitched 74.1 innings and pitched two complete games. DeLucia is 7-8 in his second year at Ohio State and has started 21 of his 26 appearances and pitched 119.1 innings, the third most on the pitching staff. DeLucia will pitch the opening game against Michigan in the Big Ten tournament.

Cody Caughenbaugh (Jr., Newark, Ohio/Licking Valley) was honored by the conference as the school’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. Caughenbaugh owns a .274 batting average as the team’s designated hitter. He has 26 hits with six doubles, one triple and two home runs, and has driven in 24 runs and scored 14 times. On May 5, he was named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District IV Baseball Team. He was named to the first of two teams as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America and is will appear on the ballot for Academic All-America honors later this month. Illinois’ Drew Davidson was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, while Michigan’s Jim Brauer was named the Big Ten Pitcher of the Year. He will oppose DeLucia in the opening game of the Big Ten tournament. Michigan State’s Ryan Sontag was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Illinois’ Richard “Itch” Jones was the Big Ten Coach of the Year.

The Buckeyes, 35-17 overall and 17-12 in the Big Ten, are the fifth seed in this week’s Big Ten tournament and will open play against fourth-seeded Michigan Wednesday at 1:05 p.m. in Champaign, Ill. All of Ohio State’s postseason games will be broadcast on NPR 820 (WOSU-AM) and on the Internet at

For a complete list of all three All-Big Ten teams, please visit: