May 13, 2020

Buckeyes Receive Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Accolades


COLUMBUS, Ohio — Seventeen members of the Ohio State men’s hockey program have earned Ohio State Scholar-Athlete accolades for 2019-20.

Three seniors – Wyatt Ege (sports coaching master’s), Gordi Myer (economics – business) and Tanner Laczynski (sport industry) – earned Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honors for the fourth time. The trio all earned their third Academic All-Big Ten honor earlier this week. Ege received his bachelor’s degree in 2019, while Myer and Laczynski are Spring 2020 graduates. Senior Carson Meyer, a transfer who received his bachelor’s degree in sport industry this spring, was named an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete for the first time.

Junior Austin Pooley (finance) earned his third Ohio State Scholar-Athlete nod, as did classmate Evan Moyse (marketing).

Sophomores Matthew Jennings (finance), Quinn Preston (health sciences) and Gustaf Westlund (economics) were recognized for the second year.

Freshmen Layton Ahac (economics), Michael Gildon (management and industry exploration), Jaedon Leslie (consumer and family financial services), James Marooney (management and industry exploration), Dalton Messina (management and industry exploration), CJ Regula (management and industry exploration), Tate Singleton (management and industry exploration) and Ryan Snowden (management and industry exploration) were all named Ohio State Scholar-Athletes.

Ohio State Buckeyes