COLUMBUS, Ohio Zac Dalpe, a freshman forward on the Ohio State men’s hockey team, is one of three finalists for the CCHA Rookie of the Year award, the league announced Thursday. Buckeye head coach John Markell is a Top 3 finalist for the league coach of the year honor.

The winners will be announced at the CCHA Awards Banquet March 19 at historic Fox Theatre in downtown Detroit. The banquet begins with a social hour presented by the RBC Financial Group at 6:30 p.m. The awards program starts at 7:30 p.m. Banquet tickets are $15 and can be purchased by calling the CCHA at 248-888-0600 or at the door the day of the event.

Dalpe, a native of Paris, Ontario, was named to the CCHA All-Rookie Team earlier this week. He has 13 goals, 12 assists and 25 points in 33 games this year, tying for fourth among league rookies in scoring and ranking 21st in the NCAA in rookie points per game. His 13 goals are tied for second among league freshmen and rank fifth (tied) in the NCAA. In CCHA games only, Dalpe had nine goals, nine assists and 18 points, ranking third in the league in rookie goals, fourth in freshman points and 20th in goals among all players despite missing four games because of injury. He was named CCHA Rookie of the Week three times (Oct. 19, Nov. 10, Feb. 9). Dalpe has a point in 19 games, with a +1 or better mark in 14, including six-consecutive. Three Buckeyes have been named the CCHA Rookie of the Year (Paul Pooley/1981, Brian Loney/1992, R.J. Umberger/2001). The other 2009 finalists are Billy Maday of Notre Dame and David Wohlberg of Michigan.

Markell, in his 14th season at the helm of Ohio State, has led the Buckeyes to 22 wins this season and a fifth-place finish in the CCHA standings, one point back of fourth place and a first-round bye. It is the team’s first 20-win season since 2005 and the seventh under Markell. In the CCHA preseason polls, the league coaches picked Ohio State to finish seventh, with the media voting the Buckeyes ninth. Markell was honored as the league coach of the year in 1998. Alaska’s Dallas Ferguson and Jeff Jackson of Notre Dame join Markell as coach of the year finalists.