Eight Buckeyes earn CGA All-America Scholar-Athlete selection

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The 2009 Ohio State men’s gymnastics team finished the year with a 3.226 cumulative grade point average to earn the highest finish of any Big Ten program in the national academic team race, the College Gymnastics Association announced July 28.

The Buckeyes, who had seven student-athletes receive First Team CGA All-America Scholar-Athlete honors and one on the second team, placed sixth with the 3.226 team GPA while Minnesota followed in seventh (3.193), Michigan in eighth (3.191) and Penn State in ninth (3.132). Stanford, the 2009 NCAA Champion, won the national academic title as well with a 3.394.

Ohio State remains the only Big Ten gymnastics program to have captured the team academic title a feat it accomplished in 2007, joining Stanford, MIT and William and Mary as the only programs to garner the title. 

Two-time All-American Jake Bateman was one of four gymnasts to end his career with four-consecutive first team honors for attaining a 3.50 or higher GPA. The 2009 Ohio State graduate in biology received an NCAA postgraduate scholarship this spring and was a finalist for both the Nissen-Emery Award and the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

Joining Bateman on the first team were Michael Bell, 2007 NCAA Vault Champion Pejman Ebrahimi, 2006 Big Ten Floor Champion Eddie Hay, Justin Myers, Matt Rayl and NCAA pommel horse finalist Andy Saurber.

Brandon Wynn, a 2009 All-American in the all-around, made the second team which honored gymnasts who attained a GPA between 3.2 and 3.499.

Ohio State CGA All-America Scholar-Athletes
First Team
Jake Bateman
Michael Bell
Pejman Ebrahimi
Eddie Hay
Justin Myers
Matt Rayl
Andy Saurber

Second Team
Brandon Wynn