Buckeyes will tee it up at the Club at Olde Stone May 14-16 with spot at national championships on the line

COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State men’s golf team will compete in the NCAA Central Regional as the No. 9 seed, the NCAA selection committee announced Monday. The Buckeyes will compete at the Club at Olde Stone in Bowling Green, Ky., May 14-16.

After a three-year absence from NCAA tournament action, the Buckeyes return for the second-consecutive season.  It is Ohio State’s 32nd NCAA appearance under head coach Jim Brown, who is the winningest active head coach and in his final season at the helm of the Buckeyes. It is the team’s 43rd appearance overall, dating back to 1945.

“We are very excited to be representing The Ohio State University and the Big Ten Conference at the 2009 NCAA Regional at Bowling Green,” Brown said. “This was one of the goals of our team with the final goal playing in the NCAA Finals in Toledo.”

The Big Ten Conference was a big winner in the announcements. An impressive nine teams qualified for the regionals and the teams that did not advance, Purdue and Wisconsin, each have an individual playing at a regional site.

“Our conference has been getting stronger every year,” Brown said. “This proves to the country that the Big Ten is a great golf conference with nine teams qualifying.”

All six regionals will take place May 14-16 with the Top 5 teams and low individual not on those teams from each site advancing to the NCAA Championships at the Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio, May 26-30.

May 14-16, The Club at Olde Stone, Bowling Green, Ky.
Hosted by Western Kentucky University

Teams (Automatic Bid)
1. Washington (Pac-10 champion)
2. Georgia Tech (ACC champion)
3. N.C. State
5. Mississippi
6. East Tennessee State
7. Duke
8. Louisville (Big East champion)
9. Ohio State
10. Vanderbilt
11. Middle Tennessee State (Sun Belt champion)
12. Austin Peay State (Ohio Valley champion)
13. Cleveland State (Horizon League champion)
14. Bucknell (Patriot League champion)

1. Mike Van Sickle, Marquette
2. Sebastian MacLean, Xavier
3. Trey Bowling, Eastern Kentucky
4. Tyler Duncan, Purdue
5. John Montgomery, Alabama State