Dec. 3, 2012

COLUMBUS, Ohio – First-year Ohio State football coach Urban Meyer is a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Football Writers Association of America announced today. Meyer guided the Buckeyes to a 12-0 record and to the championship of the Big Ten Conference Leaders Division one season after the team went 6-7 overall and 4-4 in the Big Ten.

This is Meyer’s third time as a finalist for the award in his 11 seasons as a head coach. He won the award in 2004 after guiding Utah to a 12-0 record and he was a finalist in 2008. Joining him as 2012 finalists are (alphabetically): Gary Andersen (Utah State), Dave Doeren (Northern Illinois), Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Will Muschamp (Florida), Bill O’Brien (Penn State), David Shaw (Stanford), Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M).

Ohio State’s undefeated/untied season was just the sixth for the program in 123 years of football. The Buckeyes went 8-0 in the Big Ten with wins over three Top 20 teams – at Michigan State, Nebraska and Michigan – plus another huge win over Wisconsin at difficult Camp Randall Stadium.

Meyer, the second-winningest active Football Bowl Subdivision coach with a winning percentage of .835, is now 116-23 overall, a record that includes a 65-7 home record, a 68-18 mark against conference competition, a 24-7 record against teams in the Top 25 and a 22-3 record in “rivalry games.”

Urban Meyer Coach of the Year Honors
2000-09 – Sporting News Coach of the Decade
2000-09 – Sports Illustrated Coach of the Decade
2006 – National Coach of the Year (All-American Football Foundation)
2004 – National Coach of the Year (Home Depot, Maxwell Club, FWAA)
2004 – Mountain West Conference Coach of the Year
2003 – National Coach of the Year (Sporting News)
2003 – Mountain West Conference Coach of the Year
2001 – Mid-American Conference Coach of the Year