April 21, 1999

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s volleyball team was honored with four Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association all-Conference selections today. Setter Angel Aja (Jr., Guaynabo, Puerto Rico) and middle hitter Rene’ Esteves (Jr., San Juan, Puerto Rico) were selected by a vote of the league coaches to the first team. Middle hitter Colin McMillan (Jr., Burlington, Wisconsin) and outside hitter Phil Kerewich (Sr., Wilmette, Ill.) were selected to the second team.

Aja, a three-time selection (1998 1st, 1997 2nd), was the conference assist per game champion with an 18.80 average. Esteves, a two-time selection (1998 1st), was the conference champion in hitting percentage at .507 and in blocks per game at 1.89. He also ranked fifth in kills per game with a 5.04 average. McMillan, a second team selection in 1998, ranked fourth in conference hitting percentage at .471 and fourth in blocks at 1.52. Kerewich was third in conference action in digs per game at 2.19 and ninth in aces per game at .35.

The fifth-ranked (USA TODAY/AVCA Poll) Buckeyes are 20-5 overall and with a 12-2 MIVA record were league co-champions. Ohio State returns to action this Friday at Lewis University in the MIVA Conference Tournament semifinals facing Ball State (13-13) at 5:30 p.m. Host Lewis (23-7) plays Indiana-Purdue (21-3) in the second semifinal. The semifinal winners return Saturday (7 p.m.) for the championship match. The tournament champion receives the automatic Midwest bid to the NCAA National Championship, May 6 & 8, at UCLA.

1999 MIVA-All Conference Selections

First Team All-Conference

Victor Rivera, Lewis Angel Aja, Ohio State Hector Soto, Indiana-Purdue Rene’ Esteves, Ohio State Pat Moscicki, Loyola Chris Gisslen, Indiana-Purdue Second Team All-Conference

Edgardo Deniz, Lewis Jason Fehr, Ball State Dan Schultz, Loyola Colin McMillan, Ohio State Ryan Perrotte, Indiana-Purdue Phil Kerewich, Ohio State

Player of the Year: Victor Rivera, Lewis Freshman of the Year: Jeff Ptak, Indiana-Purdue Coach of the Year: Arnie Ball, Indiana-Purdue