Jan. 10, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Men’s Volleyball opens the 2001 season this weekend with road matches at St. Francis (Pa.) and Penn State. The Buckeyes face the Red Flash of St. Francis Friday, Jan. 12 in Loretto, Pa. and play the Nittany Lions of Penn State Saturday, Jan. 23 in University Park, Pa.


The Buckeyes begin at tenth in the Volleyball Magazine preseason poll. The USA Today/AVCA Coaches Top 15 Poll has not been released.


The Buckeyes finished the 2000 season 25-4 overall and 13-1 in the Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association. OSU won the MIVA regular season and post season tournaments, advancing to the NCAA National Semifinals. The Buckeyes defeated Pepperdine 3-0 to advance to the national championship, losing 0-3 to UCLA.


Two starters return from the 2000 squad. Chris Fash (Sr.+, Orland Park, Ill./Lockport Township HS) and Pieter Olree (Sr., Reading, Pa./Exeter HS) were starting outside hitters for the Buckeyes last season. Fash averaged 5.42 kills per game last season to lead OSU and was named to the NCAA All-Tournament Team. Olree averaged 4.90 kills per game in 2000 and was named to the MIVA All-Tournament team.


The four starters lost from the 2000 season made a major impact on Ohio State volleyball. Setter Angel Aja, middle blockers Colin McMillan and Rene’ Esteves and outside hitter Jose Rivera helped Ohio State to three Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association regular season championships and a second place finish in the 2000 NCAA Championship. Aja, Esteves and McMillan were honored as All-Americans last season with Aja named the MIVA Most Valuable Player. Ohio State was 90-21 (.811) during the last four years. BUCKEYES PICKED TO REPEAT IN MIVA

By a vote of the conference coaches, Ohio State has been picked as the preseason favorite to win the MIVA championship. The teams were ranked as follows:

1. Ohio State 2. Ball State 3. Lewis 4. Quincy 5. Loyola 6. IPFW 7. Mercyhurst 8. Clarke 9. Univ. of Findlay


Chris Fash and Pieter Olree have been selected by a vote of the MIVA coaches to the preseason first team all-conference squad. Greg Lehman (Sr., Galena, Ohio/Big Walnut HS) was named to the third team.

2001 Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association Pre Season All Conference Selections as voted on by Conference Coaches

First Team Pre Season All Conference

Chris Fash Ohio State University Jeff Ptak Indiana Purdue Ft. Wayne Rob Steinkuehler Quincy University Doug Market Ball State University Pieter Olree Ohio State University Jorge Alifonso Lewis University

Second Team Pre Season All Conference

Shane Davis Loyola University Paul Aviles Lewis University Matt Denmark Ball State University Angel Ruiz Indiana Purdue Ft. Wayne Justin Schnor Loyola University Matt Tamborino Mercyhurst College

Third Team Pre Season All Conference

James Milkert Quincy University Tom Tegethoff Ball State University Greg Lehman Ohio State University Fernando Barretto Quincy University Dan Haas Loyola University Bill McNally Clarke College


The 2001 season will bring a new look to men’s collegiate volleyball. Adapting a variation of the international rules, collegiate volleyball will play all rally scoring (point per serve, no sideouts) games this season. Games one to four will be to 30 points (25 in international play) with game five to 15. The use of the libero (a designated backrow player) will be expanded to allow a different player to be designated prior to each game. A serve that touches the net and goes into the opponent’s court is a live ball and must be played while ball hit out-of-bounds past the net may be pursued and returned to one’s court and then played over the net.


In his 17th year at Ohio State, Pete Hanson has put together one of the top men’s volleyball teams in the country. Last season his squad won its sixth Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association championship in the last eight years. That squad advanced to the NCAA Championship match before losing to UCLA. For his team’s efforts, Hanson was named the American Volleyball Coaches Association Coach of the Year. The 1998 team, ranked second in the country in the latter stages of the season, finished sixth in the USA TODAY/AVCA Coaches Poll. They also were honored as the top team in the final regular season Volleyball Magazine Poll. That magazine honored Hanson as the Coach of the Year for his 25-2 season and the MIVA regular-season championship.

Hanson, in his 17th season, has a career record of 322-209 (.606) and is 308-197 (.610) in his 16-year tenure with the Buckeyes. His squads have won eight MIVA championships and made four NCAA tournament appearances. Hanson has been named the MIVA Coach of the Year five times including the 2000 season.


The Buckeyes open the home schedule against Juniata Saturday, Jan. 20 at 7 p.m.

Volleyball Magazine Poll Preseason

School 2000 Last Record Poll 1 Long Beach State 23-5 5 2 Southern California 22-5 4 3 UCLA 29-5 1 4 Brigham Young 18-9 7 5 Stanford 10-13 11 6 Hawaii 19-10 8 7 Lewis 21-11 10 8 Pepperdine 22-6 3 9 Penn State 20-14 15 10 Ohio State 25-4 2 Others: Cal State Northridge, Pacific.