May 4, 2005

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State men’s volleyball Mark Greaves (Jr., Fenton, Mo.) as been named to the second team of the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-American Team today. A first-team Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association, he averages 4.89 points per game this season with a 4.34 kills, 0.62 blocks and .022 aces per game average. Greaves has a 1.44 digs per game average and is hitting .328 on the season. He has had 22 double-figure kill matches this season. Earlier this season, he was named the Sports Imports/AVCA National Player of the Week in home wins over Lewis and Loyola and has twice been named the MIVA Player of the Week.

OSU’s last AVCA All-American was Pieter Olree (1999-02) who was named to the second team in 2002.

Greaves and the Ohio State team finished second in the MIVA regular season with a 14-2 record and is 24-7 overall. The Buckeyes won the MIVA Tournament and have advanced to the NCAA Championship Semifinals Thursday at UCLA. Ohio State, seeded fourth, will face top-ranked Pepperdine (23-2) in the second semifinal at 12 p.m. ET. The match will be carried live by ESPNU and on tape delay Friday at 1 p.m. ET on ESPN2. The first semifinal has second seed Penn State (30-3) facing third seed and host UCLA (25-5) at 10 p.m. ET. and will be carried live by ESPNU and ESPNU.

2005 AVCA Division I-II First-Team All-America

Player Institution Pos Yr Ht Hometown
Pedro Azenha Hawai’i OH Sr. 6-6 Sao Paulo, Brazil
Kevin Hansen Stanford S Sr. 6-5 Newport Beach, CA
Andy Hein Pepperdine MB Jr. 6-10 Carol Stream, IL
Tyler Hildebrand Long Beach State S Jr. 6-4 Mesa, AZ
Paul Johnson UCLA MB Sr. 6-8 Mission Viejo, CA
Nate Meerstein Penn State MB Jr. 6-9 Pittsburgh, PA
Evan Patak UC Santa Barbara RS/Opp So. 6-8 Pleasanton, CA
Alfred Reft Hawai’i Lib Jr. 5-10 Oxnard, CA
Sean Rooney Pepperdine OH Sr. 6-9 Wheaton, IL
Robert Tarr Long Beach State OH Jr. 6-6 Rockledge, FL

2005 AVCA Division I-II Second-Team All-America

Player Institution Pos Yr Ht Hometown
Michael Burke Brigham Young MB Sr. 6-8 Salt Lake City, UT
Mark Greaves Ohio State OH Jr. 6-4 Fenton, MO
Scott Greene Loyola (Chicago) OH Sr. 6-5 Athol Springs, NY
Keith Kowal Penn State MB Sr. 6-7 Reading, PA
Krystian Krzyzak Loyola (Chicago) Lib Sr. 6-0 Mt. Prospect, IL
Nils Nielsen Cal State Northridge RS/Opp Sr. 6-4 Fallbrook, CA
Ivan Perez Brigham Young OH Fr. 6-4 Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Matt Proper Penn State RS/Opp Jr. 6-7 Guys Mills, PA
Brian Waite Cal State Northridge MB Jr. 6-6 Santa Clarita, CA
Jonathan Winder Pepperdine S Fr. 6-8 Irvine, CA

AVCA Division I-II National Player of the Year: Announced at NCAA Banquet on May 4
AVCA Division I-II Newcomer of the Year: Jonathan Winder (Pepperdine University)