April 20, 2000

COLUMBUS, OHIO – Three student-athletes of the Ohio State men’s volleyball squad, Angel Aja (Sr., Guaynabo, Puerto Rico/Colegio Marista HS), Rene Esteves (Sr., San Juan, Puerto Rico/San Jose’ HS) and Colin McMillan (Sr., Burlington, Wis./Libertyville HS) have been named to the first team Midwest Intercollegiate Volleyball Association All-Conference squad. The teams were selected by a vote of the league coaches. Also honored was Chris Fash (Jr., Lockport, Ill./Lockport Township HS) who was named to the second team and Jose Rivera (Sr., Waukegan, Ill./Waukegan HS) as an honorable mention selection. Aja also was selected as the MIVA Player of the Year and OSU Coach Pete Hanson was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Aja, a three-time, first-team selection, ranked second in assists (19.09) in the league. Esteves, twice a second-team selection, finished second in the league in hitting percentage (.508) and blocks per game (1.78). McMillan, a second-team selection last season, ranked first in conference statistics in both hitting percentage (.550) and blocks per game (1.87). Fash finished sixth in conference statistics in kills per game (5.16) while Rivera was fourth in aces per game (.38).

Ohio State, 21-3 overall, won the MIVA Conference championship with a 13-1 mark. The fifth-ranked Buckeyes host Clarke College (8-18, 0-14) at 2 p.m. Saturday in a quarterfinal match of the MIVA Tournament.

First Team All Conference

Angel Aja, Ohio State University Hector Soto, Indiana-Purdue Ft. Wayne Rene Esteves, Ohio State University Eduardo Quinones, Lewis University Chris Gisslen, Indiana-Purdue Ft. Wayne Colin McMillan, Ohio State University

Second Team All Conference

Rob Steinkuehler, Quincy University Edgardo Deniz, Lewis University Ted Groves, Loyola University Brian Hughes, Ball State University Jeff Ptak, Indiana-Purdue Ft. Wayne Chris Fash, Ohio State University

Honorable Mention All Conference

Scott Lane, Indiana-Purdue Ft. Wayne Grant Bindon, Lewis University Shane Davis, Loyola University Mark Lau, Ball State University Jose Rivera, Ohio State University James Milkert, Quincy University

Player of the Year Angel Aja, Ohio State University

Freshman of the Year Shane Davis, Loyola University

Coach of the Year Pete Hanson, Ohio State University