COLUMBUS, OhioThe Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association has recognized 14 OhioState men’s volleyball players who have been named to the MIVA Academic All-Conference Team. To be eligible, athletes must have achieved at least a career 3.00 grade point average on a 4.0 scale after the completion of the fall semester at their respective institutions. A total of 62 players were honored by the conference.


Four Buckeyes are being honored for the fourth time including John Albertson (Sr.-Jr., Ballwin, Mo.), Conor Martin (Sr., Avon Lake, Ohio), Daniel Mathews (Sr., Shorewood, Wis.) and Brett Versen (5th-Sr., Centerville, Ohio). Receiving their second Academic All-Conference honors are Kevin Heine (So.-Fr., St. Louis, Mo.), Steven Kehoe (So.-Fr., Cincinnati, Ohio), Brian Kues (So., Cincinnati, Ohio), Ted Schoenfeldt (So., Northbrook, Ill.), Jason Tobkin (So.-Fr., Fairfield, Ohio) and Ryan Versen (So., Centerville, Ohio). First-year honorees include Dan Brandel (Fr., Loveland, Ohio), Samer ElShafei (Fr., Lisle, Ill.), Blake McCormick (Fr., Dublin, Ohio) and Mark Wimmers (Jr.-So., Cincinnati, Ohio).


The ninth-ranked Buckeyes (15-7 overall, 8-1 Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association) return to league play tonight, playing at IPFW (12-11, 5-6). OhioState hosts eighth-ranked BallState (18-8, 9-1) Thursday and Mercyhurst (5-18, 1-10) Saturday in 7 p.m. matches in St. John Arena to close out the regular season.