COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State men’s track and field team put on an impressive all-around performance as the Buckeyes evened the “The Dual” series with a 110-93 victory over its rival Michigan Saturday at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. The Buckeyes won 11 of the 19 events.

This was the second of six dual meets over the next three years against the two programs. Michigan won the first indoor meet in January, 90-71, before the Buckeyes evened the score this afternoon.

After the victory, the Buckeyes celebrated with a victory lap with The Dual’ pennant, which travels and stays with the winning team until the next meeting.

The 100-meter dash was a fight to the finish. Michigan All-American Adam Harris and Ohio State’s Anthony Cole were neck and neck through the first 50 meters, but Harris pulled away down the stretch for win at 10.51. Cole finished second at 10.59. James Manley for Ohio State was third at 11.02.

Harris took first in the long jump with a jump of 7.32 meters while UM’s Dominic Smith took second (7.08). Ohio State’s Justin Yates took third with a jump of 6.56 meters. Yates claimed top honors in the triple jump with a mark of 14.68 meters. UM’s Smith was second at 14.15 meters.

Dave Ebersole finished first in the hammer throw with a personal-best and Dual Meet-record toss of 206 feet, 4 inches. Sean Pruitt of Michigan finished second with a toss of 197-3 (a UM school record) while Ohio State’s Lenny Jatsek took third with a toss of 197-2.

In the pole vault, Ohio State took the top two spot as Kyle Burns and Bryan Chard both cleared 16 feet, inches. Burns finished first in the jump off, putting the Buckeyes in front, 18-15, before the start of the running events.

Michigan took the lead right back, however, claiming the top two spots in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with Brandon Fellows (9:19.84) and Peter Christmas (9:29.88). Christopher Olinger was third in a time of 9:33.61 and Adam Green fourth (9:36.51).

The Buckeyes dominated in the shot put, with Patrick Whalen and Jatsek taking first and second, respectively. Whalen’s toss of 59 feet, 7 inches is a regional qualifying mark. Jatsek’s toss was 16.77 meters. Pruitt and Vince Belitsos were third and fourth for the Wolverines.

The Buckeyes 4×100 relay team of Cole, Manley, Curtis Leuenbrerger and Stephen Robinson took first with a time of 42.10 with the Wolverines finishing second (42.59).

Ohio State swept the top two spots in the javelin throw to increase its lead to, 49-36. Patrick Filipi was first with a toss of 60.48 meters and Bryan Bunnell second at 58.17.

Jeff See dominated in the 1,500-meter run with a time of 3:49.26 while OSU’s Jake Edwards was second with a time of 3:49.97. See continued his dominating ways in the 800 meter with a first-place time of 1:51.33 while Ohio State freshman Dan White was second 1:52.02.

In the men’s 110 meter hurdles Michigan took top laurels with Carl Buchanon finishing first with a time of 14;57 while Jonathan Francois from Ohio State came in second with at time of 14:61.

Ohio State’s Matt Comer was strong from start to finish in the 400 meter, finishing first with a time of 47:21 while Robinson took third at 48:21. UM’s Andrew Wechter was second at 47:86.

In the 200-meter dash, Ohio State took first and third to extend its lead with Cole (21.22) and Comer (21.48). UM’s Barnes was second at 21.32. Cole’s time was a regional qualifying time.

In the 400-meter hurdles Elon Simms started out strong and led most of the way, but Michigan’s Dan Harmsen proved too strong at the end and took first in a time of 52.09. Simms came in second at 52.58.

Sophomore Chad Balyo won the 3,000-meter run with a time of 8:23.96. The win clinched the victory for the Buckeyes.

In the high jump, senior Patrick Woods took second with a leap of 6 feet, 8 3/4 inches. Junior Nigel Hale-Bryant was right on Woods heals as he finished third with a mark of 6-4 3/4.

“The Dual” closed with an exciting 4×400-meter relay with Michigan (3:11.78) edging a Buckeye (3:12.60) team that won the Big Ten indoor title.    

The Buckeyes will head to Knoxville, Tenn., for the Sea Ray Relays April 10-12, held on the campus of the University of Tennessee.

### ###