May 9, 2005

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Marc Wurtzman, Ohio State men’s tennis assistant coach, and sophomore Devin Mullings were honored by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association with Midwest Region awards. Wurtzman was named the ITA Assistant Coach of the Year and Mullings was tabbed the ITA Player to Watch.

Wurtzman, in his third year with the Buckeyes, helped guide the squad to its sixth-consecutive NCAA berth in 2005. Ohio State, ranked No. 26 in the ITA team poll, is 19-8 overall after the squad finished the Big Ten season with a 10-3 record. The Buckeyes lost to No. 5 Illinois, once during the regular conference season and then most recently in the championship match of the Big Ten tournament. OSU also suffered a 5-2 loss to Northwestern April 24 in regular season league play.

Wurtzman aided in coaching juniors Scott Green (North Canton, Ohio/Hoover) and Ross Wilson (Toledo, Ohio/Toledo St. Francis de Sales) to their first NCAA doubles bid and sophomore Mullings (Freeport, Bahamas/Ft. Lauderdale Prepatory) to his first NCAA singles berth.

The ITA Player to Watch award is given to a student-athlete who has an outstanding season and is expected to perform at a high level the rest of his career.

Mullings, a unanimous All-Big Ten selection, is 27-10 overall in singles this season and is ranked No. 40 in the ITA Division I singles poll released May 2. He has been ranked in every ITA singles poll this season, with the recent No. 40 rank as his highest. Mullings is 19-7 in 2005 duals action with an 8-6 mark at the No. 1 spot and a 7-1 record at No. 2. He was on a 13-match win streak from Feb. 25 with a win over Virginia Commonwealth’s Marton Ott, to April 24 with a loss to Northwestern’s Tommy Hanus.

2005 Midwest Region Award Winners
Coach of the Year: Bill Richards, Ball State
Assistant Coach of the Year: Marc Wurtzman, Ohio State
Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award: Brent D’Amico, Notre Dame
Ted Farnsworth Senior Player of the Year: Avery Ticer, Minnesota
Rookie of the Year: Kevin Anderson, Illinois
Player to Watch: Devin Mullings, Ohio State
John Van Nostrand Memorial Nominee: Avery Ticer, Minnesota