Jan. 14, 2001

%^$COLUMBUS, Ohio– The Ohio State men’s tennis team players were eliminated from the Big Ten Indoor Championships Sunday. OSU sent eight players into action Sunday and ended the day with one Buckeye, Vincent Ng (So., Broadview Heights, Ohio/University School), remaining in action at the Varsity Tennis Center at Ann Arbor, Mich.%^$

%^$Ng advanced to the finals of the Nos. 7, 8 and 9 singles bracket with a 6-2, 6-3 defeat of Purdue’s Troy Haven in the semifinals. Ng will meet Northwestern’s Russell Bennett in an 8:30 a.m. match Monday.%^$

%^$Phillip Metz (So., Mentor, Ohio/Mentor) and Chris Porter (Sr., Canton, Ohio/Jackson) were eliminated from play in the quarterfinal round by the No. 2 and 1 seeded players in the tournament, respectively. Metz was defeated by Purdue’s Jason Marshall, 6-0, 6-3, while Porter fell to Minnesota’s Harsh Mankad, 7-6(2), 6-2.%^$

%^$Brenton Contini (Fr., Dover, Ohio/Dover) and Ben Kirksey (Fr., Canton, Ohio/McKinley) reached the quarterfinals of the Nos. 7, 8 and 9 singles bracket before they were eliminated. Contini was defeated by Haven, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, while Kirksey fell to Ng’s finals opponent, Russell Bennett, 7-6(5), 2-6, 6-3.%^$

%^$The Buckeyes will return to action at 11 a.m. Thursday, Jan. 25, when they play host to Butler at Jesse Owens West Recreational Center. OSU also will play host to Murray State at 5 p.m. on Jan. 25.%^$

%^$Big Ten Indoor Championships, Day 2
%^$Main Draw
%^$No. 5 Phillip Metz
%^$Second Round- def. Chris Mitchell (MSU), 7-5, 6-3
%^$Third Round- def. No. 9 Brian Wilson (Ill.), 1-6, 7-6(4), 7-6(5)
%^$Quarterfinals- lost to No. 2 Jason Marshall (Pur.), 6-0, 6-3%^$

%^$No. 6 Chris Porter
%^$Second Round- def. Carl McCafferty (Pur.), 7-6(0), 2-6, 6-3
%^$Third Round- def. Dustin Friedman (Wisc.), 6-2, 2-6, 7-5
%^$Quarterfinals- lost to No. 1 Harsh Mankad (Minn.), 7-6(2), 6-2%^$

%^$Martin Johannson
%^$Second Round- lost to No. 7 Philip Stolt (Ill.), 6-7(5), 7-6(4), 6-3
%^$Consolations- lost to Paul Jacobsen (Ind.), 7-5, 6-4%^$

%^$Jonathon Scale
%^$Consolations- lost to Josh Axler (NU), 7-6(3), 7-6(2)%^$

%^$Andrew Carlson
%^$Second Round- def. Rahman Smiley (Ind.), 6-1. 6-3
%^$Third Round- lost to No. 2 Jason Marshall (Pur.), 6-2, 6-2%^$

%^$Adrian Bohane
%^$Consolations- def. Pete Rose (Iowa), 6-0, 6-2
%^$Consolations- def. Ben Cox (Mich.), 6-1, 6-4
%^$Consolations- lost to Carl McCafferty (Pur.), 6-4, 7-6(8)%^$

%^$No. 7, 8 and 9 Singles Bracket
%^$Vincent Ng
%^$Second Round- def. Desh Sekhri (Iowa), default
%^$Quarterfinals- def. Ahmed Wahla (NU), 7-6(4), 7-5
%^$Semifinals- def. Troy Havens (Pur.), 6-2, 6-3
%^$Finals- vs. Russell Bennett (NU)%^$

%^$Brenton Contini
%^$First Round- def. Josh Efros (MSU), default
%^$Second Round- def. Laith Al-Agba (Pur.), 6-4, 7-6(3)
%^$Quarterfinals- lost to Troy Havens (Pur.), 4-6, 6-3, 6-4%^$

%^$Ben Kirksey
%^$First Round- def. Jason Gonzaga (Wisc.), 6-3, 6-0
%^$Second Round- def. Ed Marques (Minn.), 2-6, 6-0, 6-2
%^$Quarterfinals- lost to Russell Bennett (NU), 7-6(5), 2-6, 6-3