COLUMBUS, Ohio The second-ranked Ohio State men’s tennis team beat No. 15 Michigan, 7-0, Sunday at Stickney Tennis Center. The Buckeyes improve to 29-1 overall and finish 10-0 in the conference. Ohio State clinched the outright Big Ten title Saturday following its 6-1 win against Penn State at the OSU Varsity Tennis Center.

Ohio State now has won 36-consecutive Big Ten matches and is 87-5 in its last 92 contests, including the postseason. The Buckeyes closed out the 2008 regular season by going 14-0 at home and now have won 71-consecutive home matches. The streak dates back to the 2003 season.
The Buckeyes began the match by claiming the doubles point. The 19th-ranked tandem of Steven Moneke and Bryan Koniecko beat Mike Sroczynski and Jason Jung at the No. 2 doubles spot, 8-2. Justin Kronauge and Drew Eberly, ranked No. 23 in the country, paired up at the top doubles spot and downed Matko Maravic and Andrew Mazlin by a 9-7 score.

At the No. 3 spot Balazs Novak and Mike O’Connell lost to George Navas and Chris Madden, 8-6.

Owning a 1-0 advantage, the Scarlet and Gray proceeded to win all six singles matches.
Ranked 18th in the nation, Koniecko, a native of Long Island, N.Y., downed No. 47-ranked Maravic at the top singles spot by a 6-0, 6-2 margin. An Alten-Busick, Germany, native, Moneke faced Mazlin at No. 3 singles. Moneke, ranked 24th, claimed his match by a 6-3, 6-2 score to put Ohio State up 3-0. Novak, a freshman from Nyiregyhaza, Hungary, claimed to a 6-1, 6-4 win over Navas at No. 6 singles to give the Buckeyes the team victory. 

Freshman Shuhei Uzawa, of Chiba, Japan, won his match 6-4, 3-6, 1-0 at the No. 4 singles spot. Kronauge, who is ranked No. 21, won his match for the Scarlet and Gray at No. 2 singles. The Buckeye sophomore from Centerville, Ohio, claimed a 6-2, 6-1, victory over Jung. Eberly then beat Madden at No. 5 singles. The Lake Forest, Ill., native won a highly competitive match 4-6, 6-3, 1-0. Eberly claimed the marathon super-tiebreaker by a 14-12 score. 

Ohio State will compete in the 2008 Big Ten Tournament April 24-27 Iowa City. The Buckeyes will enter the field as the top seed. Ohio State has won the tournament in 2001, 2006 and 2007.
No. 2 Ohio State 7, No. 15 Michigan 0
April 20, 2008
Columbus, Ohio
Stickney Tennis Center

Singles Competition
1. No. 14 Bryan Koniecko (OSU) def. No. 47 Matko Maravic (MICH)  6-0, 6-2
2. No. 21 Justin Kronauge (OSU) def. Jason Jung (MICH) 6-3, 7-6
3. No. 24 Steven Moneke (OSU) def. Andrew Mazlin (MICH) 6-3, 6-2
4. Shuhei Uzawa (OSU) def. Mike Scroczynski (MICH) 6-4, 3-6, 1-0
5. Drew Eberly (OSU) def. Chris Madden (MICH) 4-6, 6-3, 1-0
6. Balazs Novak (OSU) def. George Navas (MICH) 6-1, 6-4

Doubles Competition
1. No. 13 Drew Eberly/Justin Kronauge (OSU) def. Matko Maravic/Andrew Mazlin (MICH) 9-7
2. No. 27 Steven Moneke/Bryan Koniecko (OSU) def. No. 30 Mike Sroczynski/Jason Jung (MICH) 8-2
3. George Navas/Chris Madden (MICH) def. Balazs Novak/Mike O’Connell (OSU) 8-5

Order of finish: Doubles (2,1,3); Singles (1,3,6,4,2,5)