Jan. 13, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The Ohio State men’s tennis team opened the spring portion of its schedule by sending participants to compete at the Big Ten Indoor Championships at Ann Arbor, Mich., Saturday. OSU has six players in the main draw of the tournament with another three in the Nos. 7-9 singles bracket. Phillip Metz (So., Mentor, Ohio/Mentor) and Chris Porter (Sr., Canton, Ohio/Jackson) are the lone Buckeyes to receive tournament seedings and are No. 5 and 6, respectively.

Metz advanced to the second round with a 6-3, 6-1 victory over Purdue’s Derek Miller. Porter also advanced to the second round after besting Ben Schreiber of Illinois, 6-2, 6-3.

Martin Johannson (Jr., Malmo, Sweden/Physical Education) and Andrew Carlson (Sr., Gambrills, Md./Arundel) also advanced to the second round of the tournament and will play for a spot in the Round of 16 Sunday. Jonathon Scale (So., Acworth, Ga./Harrison) and Adrian Bohane (Fr., West Palm Beach, Fla./Palm Beach Lakes) fell in the first round and now must battle through the consolation bracket.

In the Nos. 7, 8 and 9 singles bracket, the Buckeyes are represented by Vincent Ng (So., Broadview Heights, Ohio/University School), Brenton Contini (Fr., Dover, Ohio/Dover) and Ben Kirksey (Fr., Canton, Ohio/McKinley). Ng has already advanced to the second round by virtue of a first round Bye.

OSU’s players will return to action Sunday with the first session beginning at 8 a.m.

Big Ten Indoor Championships (Singles)
Main Draw
No. 5 Phillip Metz

First Round- def. Derek Miller (Pur.), 6-3, 6-1 No. 6 Chris Porter
First Round- def. Ben Shreiber (Ill.), 6-2, 6-3

Martin Johannson
First Round- def. Andrew Wakefield (Pur.), 6-2, 6-4

Jonathon Scale
First Round- lost to No. 9 Michael Calkins (Ill.), 6-4, 7-5

Andrew Carlson
First Round- def. Steve Westhuyzen (PSU), 6-2, 6-1

Adrian Bohane
First Round- lost to No. 9 Brian Wilson (Ill.), 7-6(3), 7-5

No. 7, 8 and 9 Singles Bracket
Vincent Ng

First Round- BYE
Second Round- vs. Desh Sekhri (Iowa)

Brenton Contini
First Round- vs. Josh Efros (MSU)

Ben Kirksey
First Round- vs. Jason Gonzaga (Wisc.)