May 28, 2004

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Senior Jeremy Wurtzman of the Ohio State men’s tennis team, was named the co-ITA/Farnsworth National Senior Player of the Year by the national committee Friday. Wurtzman shares the honor with Illinois’ Brian Wilson. As the No. 3 seed in the 2004 NCAA Singles Championship and advancing to the tournament’s Round of 16, Wurtzman garnered ITA All-America status, the first in program history since head coach Ty Tucker in 1991. The 2004 All-America Team will be announced June 4.

Wurtzman (Sr., Rochester, N.Y./Brickhouse Academy/Florida) fell in the NCAA singles Round of 16 to Baylor’s Benjamin Becker, 6-1, 7-5, Friday in Tulsa, Okla. Wurtzman, a three-time NCAA singles participant, was the top-ranked player left in the 64-player field. The No. 1 seed Illinois’ Wilson and the No. 2 seed Baylor’s Benedikt Dorsch both fell in the opening round on Wednesday.

The match against Becker marked the first time Wurtzman advanced to the NCAA Round of 16 in his collegiate career. He suffered first round losses in 2002 and 2003. Wurtzman closed his season with a 42-5 overall singles record. His 42 wins ranks No. 2 in the program’s record book for season singles victories. Former Buckeye Roger Smith (1983-86) holds the record with 45 wins in 1986.

Wurtzman finished his collegiate career with a 132-45 overall record including 108 wins in three years at Ohio State. He holds the No. 5 spot in program history with 108 victories as a Buckeye.

The OSU tandem of Joey Atas (Fr., Baltimore, Md./Calvert Hall) and Wurtzman fell, 6-4, 7-6, in the NCAA doubles Round of 16 to the Clemson duo of Jarmaine Jenkins and Nathan Thompson. Atas and Wurtzman, 26-9 overall this season, were the first OSU doubles team to participate in NCAA competition since 1990.