COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State men’s lacrosse team held its annual banquet Sunday at the Faculty Club in Columbus, honoring the 2007 team award winners.

Kevin Buchanan, a junior from Cockeysville, Md., was named the Team MVP following his junior campaign. He ended the season second on the squad with a career-high 48 points and was first on the team with 27 assists. He was a first team All-Great Western Lacrosse League selection for the second-consecutive season.

The Defensive MVP honor was shared by long-stick middie Ricky Pages and goalie Stefan Schroder. Pages, a native of East Rockaway, N.Y., and a Lynbrook High School product, earned first team all-conference honors for the second year in a row as a junior last year. He played in all 14 games for the Buckeyes in 2007, ending the year with 36 groundballs and two goals. Schroder, a junior transfer who was in his first year with the squad in 2007, started all 14 games in the cage for the Buckeyes, ranking 19th nationally with an 8.20 goals-against average and 18th in the NCAA with a .569 save percentage.

Then-sophomore Joel Dalgarno, from Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, received team Offensive MVP honors. He earned first-team All-GWLL honors after recording a conference-high 50 points and leading Ohio State with 29 goals. He ended the season 12th in the nation with 3.57 points a game.

The Unsung Hero award went to Scott Matthews and Jeff Ryan. Matthews, a defenseman from Nottingham, Md., helped the Buckeye defense rank first nationally in man-down defense, stopping 83.9 percent of its opponent chances. He started all 14 games for the squad and had 19 groundballs, as the team was ninth nationally in scoring defense. Sophomore midfielder Ryan, from Syracuse, N.Y., started all 14 games in his first season playing for the Scarlet and Gray after transferring from Hobart, ranking second on team with 27 goals and third with 37 points and being named to the All-GWLL second team.

Eric O’Brien from Powell, Ohio and St. Charles Prep, earned two awards for his work in his senior campaign, winning the Paul Hartman Most Improved Player honor and the Most Groundballs in a Season award. He was 18th nationally with 4.93 groundballs per game, scooping up 69 on the year. O’Brien ranked eighth in the NCAA in face-off winning percentage (.611).

Chris Friel, a finance major from Northfield, N.H., won the Outstanding Scholar-Athlete award. He earned Academic All-Big Ten and Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honors as a junior in 2007.

The Outstanding Freshman Award went to James Green from Doylestown, Pa., who played in 13-of-14 games, starting seven, and chipped in 10 goals and three assists for 13 points.

Then-sophomore Andrew Pace, a native of Orchard Park, N.Y., received the Sportsmanship Award. He played in four games and recorded two goals for the squad.

Janine Oman, who spent many seasons as the men’s lacrosse athletic trainer before being promoted to assistant athletics director for sports performance in the spring, received the Alan Brady Service to OSU Lacrosse award.