May 17, 2005

Senior Randy Monahan shared the Captain Award and
the Most Consistent Award with senior Cody Trobaugh.

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s gymnastics team held its annual team banquet commemorating the 2005 season May 14 at the Faculty Club. The Buckeyes, who ended the season second at the 2005 NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Championships, officially concluded the year honoring the team’s most outstanding gymnasts.

Senior co-captains Randy Monahan (Elizabethtown, Pa./Central Pa. Academy of Gym.) and Cody Trobaugh (Dallas, Texas/ Houston Gym. Academy) were honored with the Captain’s Award after serving as team leaders during the season. Monahan and Trobaugh also were awarded with the Most Consistent Award, which honors those gymnasts who have made a steady contribution to the squad’s success.

Freshman DJ Bucher (Mason, Ohio/Queen City Gym.) picked up the Coaches Award, which is presented to the gymnast who has demonstrated hard work in the gym and in the classroom. The Most Improved Award went to sophomore Nicholaus Searcy (Dublin, Ohio/Hocking Valley Gym.) after the Dublin, Ohio, native competed in all 11 meets for the Buckeyes and recorded two career highs.