April 15, 2019

Men’s Gym Honors 13 OSU Scholar Athletes


RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on FacebookTwitter and Instagram | 2019 Schedule

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Ohio State University men’s gymnastics team continues to impress in the classroom with 13 members of the team earning OSU Scholar Athlete status, and David Szarvas earning a trio of honors at the OSU Scholar Athlete dinner on Wednesday night.

Szarvas earned three honors on Wednesday, including being one of the Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award winners, the Varsity O Scholarship Award and the Pierce Phoenix Award. Fergus scholars are male or female student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, achieved academically (3.00 GPA minimum), demonstrated positive qualities of character and citizenship and shown potential for success in a graduate or professional program. Established in 1967, the award is given in memory of Corwin A. Fergus, a member of the Ohio State football team (1912-14), a graduate of the Ohio State School of Law and later a successful businessman. The award reflects his strong commitment to the pursuit of academic and athletic excellence and his positive contributions to society. The $5,000 postgraduate scholarships, which each are renewable for up to three years, can be utilized for graduate study or professional programs at Ohio State.

The Varsity O award provides each scholar-athlete with a one-time stipend of $4,000 for postgraduate studies at Ohio State. The ideal candidate maintained a 3.0 GPA or higher during undergraduate studies, earned a varsity letter and performed community service. The Peirce Phoenix Award is given to a student-athlete who has excelled in academics, athletics and personal growth attained through perseverance and hard work. The award is to be used to attend graduate or professional school at Ohio State, with preference given to someone who intends to enroll in the Fisher College of Business.

The 13 members of the men’s gymnastics team to earn OSU Scholar Athlete honors are Joey Bonanno, Andrew Brower, Michael Chan, Curtis Chang, Robert Costea, Jacob Gricar, Sean Neighbarger, Dexter Roettker, Josh Seltzer, David Szarvas, Jesse Tyndall, Joey Wilmot and Alex Wilson.

In total 674 Buckeyes earned OSU Scholar Athlete distinction, meaning they earned a 3.0 grade-point-average for the year.