COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State men’s basketball team will travel to take on the Miami Hurricanes in the 2008 Big Ten/ACC Challenge Tuesday, Dec. 2 in Coral Gables, Fla. Time and television will be announced at a later date.

The Buckeyes finished the 2007-08 season 24-13 and captured the postseason NIT championship April 3 with a 92-85 win over UMass at Madison Square Garden. Miami finished the season 23-11, earning a No. 7 seed in the NCAA tournament before falling to second-seeded Texas, 75-72, in the second round of the South Regional.

Ohio State will be participating in the Big Ten/ACC Challenge for the seventh-consecutive year. Ohio State first participated in the event in 2002 against Duke in Greensboro, N.C., a 91-75 Blue Devils’ victory. Georgia Tech traveled to Ohio State in 2003 and won, 73-53. The Buckeyes traveled to Clemson in 2004 and fell to the Tigers, 80-73. Ohio State defeated Virginia Tech in Columbus in the 2005 event, 69-59, for its first victory in the Challenge. The Buckeyes have met North Carolina the past two seasons. The Tar Heels, ranked No. 7 at the time in the Associated Press poll in 2006, defeated the No. 3-ranked Buckeyes in Chapel Hill, 98-89. In 2007 the Buckeyes fell to the top-ranked Tar Heels, 66-55, in Columbus.

For the fourth consecutive year, the event will feature 11 games and will include two telecasts on ESPNU, the 24-hour college sports network. ESPN and ESPN2 will combine to televise the remaining nine games. The event will be played on the Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday after Thanksgiving (Dec. 1-3).

2008 Challenge highlights:

Since 2000, the ACC (8) and the Big Ten (7) have combined for 15 Final Four appearances (42 percent of the Final Four field) and four national titles – North Carolina (2005), Maryland (2002), Duke (2001) and Michigan State (2000). The ACC and the Big Ten also rank 1-2, respectively, in all-time NCAA Tournament bids, NCAA Tournament victories and Final Four appearances.

Big Ten highlights include:

Final Four Regulars: The Big Ten has accumulated a record 39 Final Four appearances, tying the ACC for the national lead. The Big Ten is also tied with the ACC and SEC with the second-most national titles (10) in college basketball history. The Pac-10 leads all conferences with 15 titles. Since the inception of the NCAA Tournament in 1939, the Big Ten has recorded the most appearances of any conference in the Big Dance with 184 (ACC, 171) and has the second-most NCAA Tournament victories with 295 (ACC, 329).

A Deep Conference: The Big Ten is the only conference since 2000 to advance five different programs to the Final Four. The ACC, Big 12 and Big East have each had four different schools reach the national semifinals over that time, followed by the Pac-10 (2) and the SEC (2). Michigan State leads the Big Ten with three appearances (2000, 2001 and 2005) while Illinois (2005), Indiana (2002), Ohio State (2007) and Wisconsin (2000) have each earned a Final Four spot since 2000.

The Nation’s Best Fans: With an average of nearly 12,900 fans per Big Ten home game during the 2007-08 campaign, the conference is on pace to lead the nation in attendance for the 32nd consecutive year. Big Ten teams welcomed 2,437,673 fans for 189 home contests this season to average 12,898 per game. The Big Ten broke the two-million mark in total attendance for the 16th-straight year and the one-million-fan mark in conference games for the 31st-straight year.

2008 ACC/Big Ten Challenge schedule (times and networks are to be determined)

Date Game
Monday, Dec. 1 Wisconsin at Virginia Tech
Tuesday, Dec. 2 Duke at Purdue
Clemson at Illinois
Ohio State at Miami
Virginia at Minnesota
Iowa at Boston College
Wednesday, Dec. 3 North Carolina vs. Michigan State (from Ford Field)
Indiana at Wake Forest
Michigan at Maryland
Florida State at Northwestern
Penn State at Georgia Tech