March 23, 2019

Men Take Second at Power 5 Trailblazer Challenge


Coral Gables, Florida – The 2019 edition of the Power 5 Trailblazer Challenge is in the books for the Buckeyes, as the men took second place with 109 points. Nine Buckeyes placed in the top three in eight different events. The women scored a total of 85 points with seven Buckeyes placing top three in seven different events.


How it Happened

Day one of the competition consisted of men’s and women’s javelin as well as shot put. Sarah Stanley was able to take silver for the women with a throw of 44.65m.

Fellow shot put competitors for both teams, Chance Ehrnsberger and Adelaide Aquilla, rounded out Friday’s scoring efforts with third and second place finishes respectively.

During Day Two of competition, Ehrnsberger was able to win the first medal of the day, and his second one of the meet with a 55.78m discus throw.

For the women, sophomore sprinter Anavia Battle ran a new personal best time of 11.41s to earn second place in the 100m dash. Teammate Abby Nichols won gold in 1500m run as she crossed the finish line with a new career best time of 4:24.94.

DaJuan Seward opened his 2019 outdoor campaign with a medal of his own, as he took second in the 110 hurdles (14.39). Sprinters Tyler Johnson (46.35), Nick Gray (47.64) and Andre Jeff (47.90) went two, three and four for the Buckeyes in the 400m dash.

Sade Olatoye picked up right where she left off after dominating in the indoor season, as she earned second with a new personal record in hammer throw. The heave of 64.69m is just shy of the school record of 65.48m.

As the day started to wind down in Miami, the Buckeyes continued to stay hot as Robby Oswald soared 4.95m to claim silver in the men’s pole vault. Christine Frederick, a veteran runner for Ohio State, placed first in the 3000m run with a time of 9:39.76. In the men’s edition of the same race, fellow veteran runner, Luke Landis also took first with a time of 8:33.32s.

The Power 5 Trailblazer Challenge ended with a second place finish from the men with a time of 3:12.95s. The team consisted of Tyler Johnson, Eric Harrison Jr., Andre Jeff and Donnie James.

Up Next

March 28th-29th, Ohio State will travel back to the Sunshine State to compete in the Florida Relays.