KANSAS CITY, MO. (March 5, 2009) — The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced today the NABC Division I All-District teams, recognizing the nation’s best men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes. Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America. The 240 student-athletes, from 24 districts which were realigned this season, are now eligible for the State Farm Coaches’ Division I All-America teams to be announced, April 4, at Hoop City in the COBO Center at 10 a.m. as part of the 2009 NABC Convention in Detroit.

Ohio State’s Evan Turner, a sophomore from Chicago, was selected a first team member in District 7.

Turner, a candidate for Big Ten Player of the Year, leads Ohio State in scoring (16.8 ppg.), rebounding (7.1 rpg.), assists (107) and steals (48). His 22 points and career-high nine assists helped the Buckeyes to a 60-58 victory earlier this week at Iowa to improve Ohio State’s overall record to 19-9 Big Ten Conference record to 9-8.

Turner has eight games this season with 20 or more points and eight outings with 10 or more rebounds. He leads the team with seven double-doubles on the year. He is scoring on 51 percent of his field goal attempts (158-309) and on 77 percent of his foul shots (146-190).

Ohio State ends the regular season at 5 p.m. Sunday at home vs. Northwestern.