February 1, 2018

Mavunga Named a Katrina McClain Award Finalist


Feb. 1, 2018

2017-18 Stats
2017-18 Schedule
Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Stephanie Mavunga has been named one of 10 finalists for the Katrina Mcclain Award as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association on Thursday.

Named after the two-time All-American, 1987 National Player of the Year and 2012 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame inductee, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top power forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Mavunga has notched a team-best 11 double-doubles and is averaging 15.6 points and 10.9 rebounds per game. Of the 10 finalists, Mavunga leads the group in rebounds per game and efficiency and is in the top three in most every other category.

The Selection Committee for the Katrina McClain Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalists to determine the Naismith Starting 5 at www.hoophallawards.com.

The winner of the 2018 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30.