July 10, 2014


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Former Ohio State goalkeeper Matt Lampson was one of 20 up-and-coming MLS starts selected for the 2014 Chipotle MLS Homegrown Game Aug. 4 at Providence Park in Portland, Oregon as part of the festivities leading up to the 2014 AT&T MLS All-Star Game.

The Crew is one of seven MLS teams to have a pair of homegrowns on the roster as Lampson will be joined by midfielder William Trapp – a native of Gahanna, Ohio. The Black and Gold have seven homegrown players on their active roster, tying FC Dallas for the league lead. The squad will play the Portland Timbers’ Under-23 side in a contest that kicks-off at 10 p.m. ET Aug.4 and will be streamed on WatchESPN and

“We are excited for Wil and Matt to have this opportunity,” said Crew Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter in a press release on Wednesday. “Their selection is a testament to the hard work and success of the Crew Youth system, and specifically our Academy program. We’re pleased to be among the MLS leaders in Homegrown Player development, and we’re proud of all seven of our current homegrowns and their contributions to our organization.”

Lampson was named the Crew’s 2013 Humanitarian of the Year and has made 13 starts in goal for the Crew, recording five shutouts.  The native of Hilliard and graduate of St. Charles Preparatory School, Lampson made 55 starts for the Buckeyes and posted an impressive 0.86 goals-against average from 2009-2011. Lampson recorded 24 career shutouts, which ranks second on the school’s all-time list. While at OSU, Lampson earned a series of accolades including All-Big Ten First Team (2010), All-Big Ten Second Team (2009, 2011), All-Great Lakes Region First Team (2010), Big Ten co-Freshman of the Year (2009), eight Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week honors, and All-Big Ten Fall Academic Team (2011).

2014 Chipotle MLS Homegrown Roster*

Goalkeepers: Jon Kempin (Sporting Kansas City), Matt Lampson (Columbus Crew)

Defenders: Connor Lade (New York Red Bulls), Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Shane O’Neill (Colorado Rapids), Karl W. Ouimette (Montreal Impact), Erik Palmer-Brown (Sporting Kansas City), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfielders: Steven Evans (Portland Timbers), Wandrille Lefevre (Montreal Impact), Chris Ritter (Chicago Fire), Harry Shipp (Chicago Fire), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew)

Forwards: Caleb Calvert (Chivas USA), Bradford Jamieson (LA Galaxy), Sean Okoli (Seattle Sounders FC), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

* Should any of these players be selected to the game day roster for the 2014 AT&T MLS All-Star game, then that player would not participate in the Homegrown Game