April 24, 2019

Mason Jobst and Karrington Winters Receive Big Ten Medal of Honor


Scarlet and Graymies Photo Gallery

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Men’s hockey forward Mason Jobst and Karrington Winters of the women’s track and field team have been named Ohio State’s winners of the 2019 Big Ten Medal of Honor. The honors were announced at the Scarlet and Graymies Tuesday evening in Mershon Auditorium.

The Big Ten Conference’s most exclusive award was the first of its kind in intercollegiate athletics to recognize academic and athletic excellence. The Big Ten Medal of Honor was first awarded in 1915 to one student-athlete from the graduating class of each university who had “attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work.” Big Ten schools currently feature almost 9,500 student-athletes, but only 28 earn this prestigious award on an annual basis. In the 100-plus years of the Medal of Honor, almost 1,400 student-athletes have earned this distinction.


Ohio State Buckeyes

Just the second two-time All-American in program history, Jobst has left his mark throughout the Ohio State men’s hockey record book. The school’s fifth Hobey Baker Award finalist, he is a three-time All-Big Ten honoree, with first team honors in 2017 and ’19 and second team accolades in 2018. He was part of a senior class that advanced to the NCAA Tournament three times, including the team’s first trip to the Frozen Four in 20 years, and won the first Big Ten title in program history in 2019. Jobst led all 2018-19 NCAA skaters with 164 career points, the most for a Buckeye since 1989, and is the Big Ten record holder in career goals and points in league games. This year, Jobst led the Buckeyes with 17 goals and 36 points and was named a Second Team All-American.

Jobst is a three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and a two-time Academic All-Big Ten choice majoring in real estate and urban analysis. Following the season, he agreed to terms on a two-way contract with the NHL New York Islanders, beginning in 2019-20.

Winters, a dominant student-athlete on and off the track, is currently the president of the Ohio State Student-Athlete Advisory Council and holds her leadership position with dignity and gratitude. Her work within the community and Ohio State have made a significant impact and she will leave a legacy of her own. The senior sprinter holds three records at Ohio State, one in the 600-meter run in the Big Ten Championships with a time of 1:27.60, the other as a member of the 4×400-meter relay in the NCAA Championships with a time of 3:31.23 and as part of the distance medley relay team that ran a 11:02.12 to secure the fastest spot in program history this indoor season.

A three-time USTFCCCA First Team All-American and two-time USTFCCCA Second Team All-American, Winters is a member of three of the four fastest indoor 4x400m relays in program history. Throughout her career, she has claimed 24 event titles, four Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honors and is a three-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar. Also a force on the international circuit, Winters was part of the 2016 USA 4×400-meter relay that ran in Poland at the IAAF U20 World championships, ultimately taking home gold. Winters recently received Student Life’s Outstanding Senior Award and is currently ranked No. 6 in 200-meter and No. 4 in the 400-meter in the Big Ten Conference.

Jobst is the second Ohio State men’s hockey player to win the Big Ten Medal of Honor, joining Dave Hoyles, who was recognized in 1973. Winters is the fifth Ohio State women’s track and field member honored, following Joan Pero (1990), Keturah Lofton (2006), Jenna Griffin (2008) and Katie Borchers (2015).