April 22, 2019

Looking Back at the Buckeyes’ 18th Big Ten Championship


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s golf team made a charge on the back nine to earn the 18th Big Ten championship in program history Sunday at TPC River’s Bend. Senior Niki Schroeder fired a bogey-free career-low 6-under par 66 in the final round to earn co-medalist honors, marking the 15th time a Buckeye has been crowned a Big Ten medalist. Schroeder tied Purdue’s Melati Putri with a two-round total of 138 at the rain-shortened Championships.

At 1-under for the tournament, the Buckeyes won by three strokes over Illinois, Indiana and Purdue, earning the Big Ten’s automatic berth to the NCAA Championships.

1979*    East Lansing, Mich. (JR Ables)
1980*    Columbus, Ohio (JR Ables)
1981*    West Lafayette, Ind. (Steve Groves)
1983      Champaign, Ill. (Steve Groves)
1984      Iowa City, Iowa (Steve Groves)
1985      Bloomington, Ind. (Steve Groves)
1988      Columbus, Ohio (Jana Shipley)
1993      Iowa City, Iowa (Therese Hession)
1997      East Lansing, Mich. (Therese Hession)
1999      West Lafayette, Ind. (Therese Hession)
2002      Champaign, Ill. (Therese Hession)
2003      Iowa City, Iowa (Therese Hession)
2004      Columbus, Ohio (Therese Hession)
2005      Ann Arbor, Mich. (Therese Hession)
2014      French Lick, Ind. (Therese Hession)
2015      Indianapolis, Ind. (Therese Hession)
2016      Indianapolis, Ind. (Therese Hession)
2019      Maineville, Ohio (Therese Hession)
*Big Ten Conference does not officially recognize championships prior to 1982

The Big Ten championship is the 11th for the Buckeyes under the direction of head coach and director of golf Therese Hession, extending her conference record. With the automatic bid to NCAA Regionals, Hession will lead the Buckeyes to Regional play for the 25th-consecutive time and 26th occasion in 28 years coaching Ohio State.

“This would be one of the most unlikely championships,” Hession said. “I knew in my heart we had it in us but we had to put it all together. It’s ironic how the week worked with Jack (Nicklaus) coming in and talking to the team about how to win before we came out and did this over the weekend. We stuck to the game plan and minimized our mistakes. I’m so proud of this team.”

Ohio State Buckeyes

1979      Kelly Trent                          152
1980      Rosie Jones                        144
1981      Karin Mundinger               225
1982      Cathy Kratzert                   226
1983      Cathy Kratzert                   214
1984      Cheryl Stacy                       224
1985      Cheryl Stacy                       297
1997      Amy Langhals                    305
2001      Mollie Fankhauser            301
2002      Mollie Fankhauser            304
2003      Allison Hanna (co)            294
2005      Kristen White                     222
2014      Jessica Porvasnik              216
2018      Jaclyn Lee                           207
2019      Niki Schroeder (co)           138

Schroeder’s 66 in the final round was one stroke back of the lowest individual round at the Big Ten Championships, just behind Michigan’s Ashley Bauer in 2010 and Wisconsin’s Brooke Ferrell in 2016. The Avon Lake, Ohio, native tied for best in the field on the par-5’s at 5-under while tying for second best in par-4 scoring at 2-under. Schroeder also tied for most birdies with 10.

“This is really special,” Schroeder said. “I was focused on playing well for the team and we all knew what we had to do to be successful this weekend. It’s been a crazy year. It has tested me personally being a senior on this team but it was all worth it after being able to walk off that green knowing what we accomplished.”

Ohio State Buckeyes

1st Team 294-281-575 (-1)
T-1st– Niki Schroeder 72-66-138 (-6)
T-5th – Aneka Seumanutafa 73-69 (-2)
T-24th – Skylar Thompson 76-72-148 (+4)
T-33rd – Lauren Peter 73-76-149 (+5)
T-56th –Yukie Sasaki 79-74-153 (+9)
T-69th – Adeena Shears 81-75-156 (+12)

The Buckeyes will head to an NCAA Regional May 6-8 at a site to be determined. The NCAA selection show is set for 5:30 p.m. Wednesday on Golf Channel.