July 1, 2020

Loads of B1G Distinguished Scholars for #OSUMVB


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Nine member of the Ohio State University men’s volleyball team earned 2019-20 Big Ten Distinguish Scholar recognition on Wednesday (July 1). The honorees included Tyler Alter, Andrew Hillman, Martin Lallemand, Luke Lentin, Parker Mikesch, Sean Ryan, Jack Stevens, Ethan Talley and Jamie Wolmering.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

A Big Ten best 164 Ohio State student-athletes were honored for this season. The full list is HERE.

The 164 honorees is an Ohio State record, surpassing the 131 recognized in 2018-19. This is the fifth consecutive year Ohio State has led the Big Ten in total recipients.