Feb. 18, 2017

Saturday Results
Entire Big Ten Championships Results
Big Ten Championships Meet Central

West Lafayette, Ind. Liz Li won her second Big Ten title of the weekend when she finished first in the 100 freestyle, helping close out Ohio State’s trip to Big Ten Championships on a high note. The Buckeyes finished in fifth place, the seventh time since 2010 they have finished in the Top 5 at their conference meet.


Big Ten Champions
50 Freestyle- Liz Li (21.48, tied school record)
100 Freestyle- Liz Li (47.50, new school record)
400IM- Lindsey Clary (4:04.09)


First Team All-Big Ten

Lindsey Clary

Liz Li


Second Team All-Big Ten

Maria Coy

Macie McNichols

Cheyenne Meek


Sportsmanship Award

Elizabeth Auckley


Li’s win in the 100 freestyle was her third career individual Big Ten Championship. Coming into the event she was the second seed according to the psych sheets, and she ended up dropping 0.7 seconds off her seed time to win the event. Li is the first Ohio State swimmer to win the 100 free at Big Tens since Megan Detro in 2011.


The final day of the meet started off well for the Buckeyes, with both Clary and freshman Molly Kowal putting up Top 10 times in the 1,650 freestyle finals. Clary placed fourth with her time of 15:58.29 and Kowal finished sixth at 16:02.35.


Both of OSU’s divers had a good day on platform. Lara Tarvit advanced to A finals and put up a score of 298.30, good for sixth place. Haley Allen’s score of 255.05 in the B finals put her at 15th overall, making Saturday the most successful day for the Buckeye divers.


Four swimmers appeared inside the Top 20 of the 200 backstroke. Kathrin Demler (1:55.69), Zulal Zeren (1:55.81), Mikayla Murphy (1:58.04), and Kaitlyn Ferrara (1:57.41) all helped Ohio State accomplish that feat. The Scarlet and Gray also had four swimmers compete in finals heats in the 100 freestyle. Obviously they were led by Li and her B1G title, but Macie McNichols (49.34), Chantel Wynn (49.96), and Maria Coy (50.25) all turned in great swims for their team.


The last individual event of the meet was the 200 butterfly. Meg Bailey finished in third place overall, her time of 1:56.73 helping her achieve that feat. Joining her in the finals heats was Amanda McNulty, who touched the wall at 1:59.35.


In the final event, the 400 freestyle relay, McNichols, Demler, Wynn, and Li combined for a time of 3:16.99 to finish in fourth place.


Michigan claimed its second consecutive conference championship led by 14 Top 3 finishes from its swimmers and divers.


Next up for the Buckeyes are NCAA Zone Diving meets and the NCAA Championships. More information will follow on both of these events.


Final Standings:

  1. Michigan 1287
  2. Indiana 1125
  3. Wisconsin 1101.5
  4. Minnesota 1086
  5. Ohio State 837
  6. Purdue 656
  7. Northwestern 534
  8. Penn State 453
  9. Rutgers 446
  10. Nebraska 385
  11. Iowa 357
  12. Illinois 197
  13. Michigan State 195.5