OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Sixty NCAA men’s and women’s student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in basketball. Among the candidates are senior Buckeyes David Lighty and Jantel Lavender.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the men’s basketball Senior CLASS Award winner at the NCAA Men’s Final Four in Houston and the women’s basketball Senior CLASS Award winner at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Indianapolis.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 men’s and 10 women’s finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Men’s Basketball Candidates
Kevin Anderson, Guard, Richmond
John Ashworth, Guard, IUPUI
Devon Beitzel, Guard, Northern Colorado
Noah Dahlman, Forward, Wofford
Malcolm Delaney, Guard, Virginia Tech
Dodie Dunson, Guard, Bradley
Kenneth Faried, Center, Morehead State
Jimmer Fredette, Guard, BYU
Dairese Gary, Guard, New Mexico
Devin Gibson, Guard, Texas San Antonio
Jeremy Hazell, Guard, Seton Hall
Blake Hoffarber, Guard, Minnesota
Matt Howard, Forward, Butler
Gary Johnson, Forward, Texas
Cameron Jones, Guard, Northern Arizona
Rob Keefer, Guard, Lehigh
Andrew Keister, Forward/Center, Holy Cross
Kenny Lawson, Jr., Center, Creighton
Jon Leuer, Forward, Wisconsin
David Lighty, Guard, Ohio State

Mickey McConnell, Guard, St. Mary’s (Calif.)
Brendan McKillop, Guard, Davidson
E’Twaun Moore, Guard, Purdue
Jacob Pullen, Guard, Kansas State
Tyrel Reed, Guard, Kansas
Damian Saunders, Forward, Duquesne
Xavier Silas, Guard, Northern Illinois
Kyle Singler, Forward, Duke
Chris Warren, Guard, Mississippi
Chris Wright, Forward, Dayton

2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Women’s Basketball Candidates
Kachine Alexander, Guard, Iowa
Erin Anthony, Forward, Army
Angie Bjorklund, Guard/Forward, Tennessee
Jessica Breland, Forward, North Carolina
Victoria Dunlap, Forward, Kentucky
Dawn Evans, Guard, James Madison
Amber Harris, Forward, Xavier
Ify Ibekwe, Forward, Arizona
Amy Jaeschke, Center, Northwestern
Alyssa Karel, Guard, Wisconsin
Michelle Kirk, Forward, American
Jantel Lavender, Center, Ohio State
Maya Moore, Forward, Connecticut
Kayla Pedersen, Forward, Stanford
Ta’Shia Phillips, Center, Xavier
Julie Piper, Forward, Eastern Washington
Jeanette Pohlen, Guard, Stanford
Lauren Prochaska, Forward, Bowling Green
Erica Prosser, Guard, Lehigh
Sam Quigley, Guard, DePaul
Liz Repella, Guard, West Virginia
Jence Rhoads, Guard, Vanderbilt
Danielle Robinson, Guard, Oklahoma
Jaleesa Ross, Guard, Fresno State
Sam Schuett, Forward, Creighton
Brittney Smith, Forward, Dartmouth
Helena Sverrisdottir, Guard/Forward, TCU
Kayla Tetschlag, Guard/Forward, Green Bay
Jasmine Thomas, Guard, Duke
Courtney Vandersloot, Guard, Gonzaga