OVERLAND PARK, KS (January 26, 2011) – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists Wednesday for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 60 candidates announced in November. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote via the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award website or on the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through March 20. Fan votes will be combined with media and coaches votes to determine the winner.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the men’s winner at the NCAA Final Four® in Houston and the women’s winner at the NCAA Women’s Final Four® in Indianapolis.

For more information on all the finalists, visit

# # # #
2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award
Men’s Basketball Finalists
Devon Beitzel, Guard, Northern Colorado
Dodie Dunson, Guard, Bradley
Jimmer Fredette, Guard, BYU
Matt Howard, Forward, Butler
Cameron Jones, Guard, Northern Arizona
Jon Leuer, Forward, Wisconsin
David Lighty, Guard, Ohio State
E’Twaun Moore, Guard, Purdue
Tyrel Reed, Guard, Kansas
Kyle Singler, Forward, Duke

2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award
Women’s Basketball Finalists
Erin Anthony, Forward, Army
Angie Bjorklund, Guard/Forward, Tennessee
Dawn Evans, Guard, James Madison
Amber Harris, Forward, Xavier
Maya Moore, Forward, Connecticut
Kayla Pedersen, Forward, Stanford
Sam Quigley, Guard, DePaul
Liz Repella, Guard, West Virginia
Danielle Robinson, Guard, Oklahoma
Jasmine Thomas, Guard, Duke

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Sportscaster Dick Enberg, honorary chair of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, first conceived the idea of an award for seniors in 2001 in response to the growing trend of men’s basketball players leaving school early for the NBA. The award program has expanded from men’s and women’s basketball to include 10 NCAA Division I sports. The award is sponsored by Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, and is managed by Premier Sports Management.

With fiscal year 2009 sales of $47.2 billion, Lowe’s Companies, Inc. is a FORTUNE® 50 company that serves approximately 15 million customers a week at more than 1,725 home improvement stores in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Founded in 1946 and based in Mooresville, N.C., Lowe’s is the second largest home improvement retailer in the world. Lowe’s is an Official Corporate Partner of the NCAA.

The NCAA is a membership-led nonprofit association of colleges and universities committed to supporting academic and athletics opportunities for more than 400,000 student-athletes at more than 1,000 member colleges and universities. Each year, more than 54,000 student-athletes compete in NCAA championships in Divisions I, II and III sports. Visit and for more details about the Association, its goals and members and corporate partnerships that help support programs for student-athletes.