ATLANTA – The State Farm Wade Trophy Committee along with the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) announced the 12 finalists in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy.

“This is definitely a time of year that I look forward to annually as I get to announce the 12 finalists for The State Farm Wade Trophy,” said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. “The prestige of this award goes without saying, and I can only imagine how excited these 12 student-athletes are to be on this list. We wish them the best of luck in the remainder of their seasons.”

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I State Farm Coaches’ All-America Team and will be announced at the State Farm Coaches’ All-America Team and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention in San Antonio, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four®. The announcement, which is open to the public, will be made on Saturday, April 3, 2010, at 1:05 p.m. CT on Center Court at the Alamodome as a part of the NCAA’s Super Saturday events.

“State Farm is extremely proud to recognize and congratulate these 12 outstanding athletes as finalists for The 2010 State Farm Wade Trophy,” said Pam El, Marketing Vice President for State Farm. “Their dedication and commitment epitomize the true meaning of student-athlete and they are all very deserving of this great honor.”

The State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists are as follows:

Player Name Institution Year Position
Jayne Appel Stanford University Sr. C
Tina Charles University of Connecticut Sr. C
Alysha Clark Middle Tennessee State Univ. Sr. F
Kelsey Griffin University of Nebraska Sr. G
Jantel Lavender Ohio State University Jr. C
Maya Moore University of Connecticut Jr. F
Nnemkadi Ogwumike Stanford University Soph. F
Samantha Prahalis Ohio State University Soph. G
Danielle Robinson University of Oklahoma Jr. G
Jasmine Thomas Duke University Jr. G
Courtney Vandersloot Gonzaga University Jr. G
Monica Wright University of Virginia Sr. G

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 33rd year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball”, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women’s national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year’s State Farm Wade Trophy winner was Connecticut’s Maya Moore. The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Candace Parker (2007), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003). Seimone Augustus (2005 and 2006) and Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) are the award’s only two-time recipients.

The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June of 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past ten years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Award. A committee comprised of coaches, administrators and media from across the United States selects the winner.

The State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be formally presented her award at the WBCA Awards Luncheon presented by State Farm and Jostens at Noon CT on Tuesday, April 6, at the Marriott Rivercenter Grand Ballroom. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four® in San Antonio, Texas.